Tuesday, April 30, 2013

REAL by Katy Evans



Remington Tate is an underground fighter with a serious bad boy reputation. Brooke is an ex-Olympic hopeful that is working on finding her place in the world after all her dreams die when she tears her ACL. The moment Remy sees Brooke at one of his fights he knows he has to have her in his life. Brooke feels an instant connection with Remington and accepts his job offer.  Remington has a lot of secrets and can't really express his emotions verbally. He wants to spend time getting to know Brooke and he really tries to tell her what he feels through music. Brooke really wants Remy and has never felt this way for anyone. It is nerve racking for her. I don't want to tell you too much so I am going to leave it at that...this book is about them getting to know each other as well as them finding themselves.

Brooke
Remington
















Darra's Review

At first, I thought that Remmington would be like all other fighters we have read. Little did I know that I have a new book boyfriend that is top of the list. The moment he meets her, it was unbelievable. They had a connection that they could not resist. He showed from the beginning how he felt her by listening to his music. Sigh. She starts to notice something is off. She must find out what it was. Despite all the things that have happened to him, she still cares for him. Which makes him fall for her hard. He is amazing. He is one of the few characters that would do anything for the girl. I really mean anything. I even posted up how rough I felt afterwards. I didn't want to read another book because I was so stuck on him. He is one of the few that I believe anyone would fall for him despite his craziness. Heartbreaking but in a good way. I had a lump in my throat. I would give it a 4.5. Read it up or I will beat you up!

Sunny's Review

I totally fell hard for Remington. I really think it was the fact that he used music to try to tell Brooke how he felt and about him. He seemed bigger than life to me and I can't put him in the same category as regular book boyfriends. I am putting him in the he's human but better than regular boys category. I also really like Brooke. She is not the typical whiny girl that will just sit around waiting on a guy to notice her. She is very up front with her lust for Remy and is not afraid to try to go after him. She has no problems telling Remy what she wants and she does truly try to be there for him as he constantly works through his demons. I am not going to lie...my heart was in my throat during the last 1/3 of the book. I was ready to punch both of them in the face b/c I could not believe what they were doing. Katy Evans did an AWESOME job of sucking me into their lives and making me almost physically sick toward the end. I love/hate when an author can play my emotions like this. I would give the book a 4.5 and I can't wait for the next book to come out. I definitely need more!!!!!

Check out the give away below and make sure you go buy REAL by Katy Evans

B&N REAL  Amazon REAL


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Monday, April 29, 2013

The Most Annoying Girls!!


Darra and I were talking (what else is new) about the girls in the books we read. A lot of times we are like "They are so DUMB!" and "Who would DO that?"  So this brought up...who are the dumbest, most annoying main characters that we have read. We made a list and are picking our top 5.  We are only going off books that we have both read. SOOOOOOO.....(Please keep in mind we like the books and we have read them all but we yelled at the girls through the whole thing)...

Number 5

Blaire (Too Far Series)--Yes, she has had a rough year. But who really would say okay, I will live in the cupboard. Live in your car. And stop being everyone’s bitch(excuse me, but really).

Cassidy (From Ashes)--Ok. I realize that Cassidy had a freaking rough life and all but at the same time...seriously at some point you have to stop just taking it and stand up for yourself. She was just too submissive for me. 

Number 4

Gabby (Dark Light Series)--It was Gabby for both of us b/c she is just dumb. I mean you get a book telling you about your birthmother and it helps explain why your parents were killed and will tell you all about yourself and you don't read it straight through!!! What is wrong with you??!!??? Plus, you really had NO CLUE that Dorian was somehow related to everything??!!!?? UGH!

Nubmer 3

Dani (Fever Series)--She is annoying. So you are a pre-teen that thinks you can take out everyone, but in reality she is a whiny PMSing girl. Really, you think you can take Lor? Please. You are retarded.

Elsie (Disarm Series)--Again, why do you just sit back and not go for what you want? I mean you just let him tell you when its over and you don't fight for him? I don't know who made me madder...Elsie or Henry.

Number 2

Anastasia (50 Shades of Grey)--For both of us...I mean there just really aren't any words...(please read this next part in a SUPER WHINY DITZY voice) "OK so I am a 20 something virgin that is about to graduate from college and I can't walk without falling over...but yes I will TOTALLY sign this document that basically makes me your sex slave...oh & I know I have no experience but guess what...I WILL DO EVERYTHING and it will PERFECT! Oh, I know you are CRAZY and JEALOUS and really want to beat me for FUNNSIES but YES I CAN'T WAIT TO MARRY YOU!"  I realize Christian Grey would most of our dreams come true but if you were that young and inexperienced...uh NO! You just don't do that.

Number 1

Bella Swan (Twilight Series)--YOU ARE 18 YEARS OLD AND YOU WANT TO MARRY A VAMPIRE!!!! I know he is 117 but he looks so YOUNG!!! Oh wait no...you think you love a WEREWOLF too!!! "No wait I only love Edward...but Jacob is my best friend and I love him too...no he is a jerk I only love Edward...Oh yay I am having a Vampire baby (that is killing me in the month that I am pregnant) and I love this baby more than Edward (who I turned into a vampire for) and I am totally ok with my best friend Jacob (that was SOOOOOOO in love with me) imprinting on my baby b/c he will take care of her until she old enough to mate with him." (Again hopefully you read that in the annoying voice I wrote it in)

Now how about our Top 3 Favorite Girls:

Number 1--MacKayla Lane (Fever Series)--Ok...Mac is kinda stupid too but she is more powder puff stupid and totally KICK A**. When her sister is killed she GOES to DUBLIN to HUNT for the MURDERER!! I mean do we see Ana or Bella doing that???? NO!

Number 2--Joss (On Dublin Street)--Joss had a jacked up life and still went and did what she wanted when she wanted. She was very up front and open about doing her thing and not doing what everyone tells her to do. 

Number 3--Tilly (Heller Series)--Tilly is very DUMB BLOND but again she doesn't just sit around and take  it from everyone. She goes and does stuff...she totally puts up with Heller (I mean I would too) and instead of calling in the MEN to help her she helps herself!

Again...hopefully you don't read this and think that we don't like the books...we really do...From Ashes has one of my FAVORITE book boyfriends in it...we are jonesing for the next book in the Dark Light series...the Fever Series is my FAVORITE SERIES EVER...everyone needs to jump on the 50 Shades bandwagon just to say you've been there done that...

Tell us who your best and worst main characters are...Why are they great or horrible?

Sunny & Darra

The Vampire Trilogy by Kenya Wright

We have a New Post for a new book from The Vampire King Trilogy. This is a adults only read for you YA readers. Check it out TODAY!.

http://twobrainbookreviewersadultsonly.blogspot.com/?zx=52427bad386713d0

Saturday, April 27, 2013

My Heart in my Throat.

I just finished reading a book I get to tell all about it on Tuesday and I don't know no what to do with myself. I am a mess! Excited, distraught, and wanting more to read. Sigh. Check us out on Tuesday. I can't wait to review this book.
Darra

Friday, April 26, 2013

Cover Reveal & Giveaway: UNTOUCHED by Melody Grace


UNTOUCHED by Melody Grace
Publication date: May 14th
Emerson Ray is trouble. Juliet knows it the minute she lays eyes on Cedar Cove’s resident bad boy. Forced to spend her summer before college in the sleepy beach town, she never expected to crash into the most devastating guy she’s ever met—or for Emerson’s blue eyes to strip through her dark secrets, and make her feel a desire she’s never known. Their connection is undeniable, but Juliet is torn. She knows, once she gives him everything, there’ll be no turning back.

Juliet McKenzie is dangerous. Emerson can tell from the way she blows through all his defences, laying bare the demons he’s carried alone all his life. He’s left a trail of broken hearts and empty beds in his wake, but Juliet is different. Her innocence is intoxicating—and the passion she keeps hidden, just below the surface. He wants to be the only one to set it free, but with every kiss, he’s closer to losing control and doing the one thing he swore he never would: fall in love.

One summer. Two damaged hearts. Their story is only just beginning…

UNTOUCHED is a prequel novella to the USA Today Bestselling UNBROKEN. It also can be read as a stand-alone story.




Find The Author






a Rafflecopter giveaway

Cover Reveal: ECHO by Alicia Wright Brewster


The countdown clock reads ten days until the end of the world. The citizens are organized. Everyone's been notified and assigned a duty. The problem is . . . no one knows for sure how it will end.

Energy-hungry Mages are the most likely culprit. They travel toward a single location from every corner of the continent. Fueled by the two suns, each Mage holds the power of an element: air, earth, fire, metal, water, or ether. They harness their powers to draw energy from the most readily available resource: humans.

Ashara has been assigned to the Ethereal task force, made up of human ether manipulators and directed by Loken, a young man with whom she has a complicated past. Loken and Ashara bond over a common goal: to stop the Mages from occupying their home and gaining more energy than they can contain. But soon, they begin to suspect that the future of the world may depend on Ashara's death.




Purchase




About Alicia Wright Brewster



Alicia Wright Brewster is a mild-mannered lady of average height and above average paranormal obsession. By day, she works in an office. At night she is an author, an electronics junkie, and a secret superhero. (Please don't ask what her superpower is; that's not very polite.)

In her virtually non-existent free time, she loves to read, watch movies, and eat food. She is particularly fond of the food-eating and makes a point to perform this task at least three times per day, usually more.

Home | Facebook | Twitter





Make sure to check out the blog tour kicking off on Monday! You could win an awesome prize pack!



SNEAK PEEK of ECHO...


A metal plate occupied the wall to the right of the door. Loken pressed his hand to it. The door slid away and disappeared into the left side of the doorway. Loken stepped through and down the stairs on the other side. His footsteps clanged against the metal steps as he descended.

Unlike in the overly bright training room on the other side of the building, dim lights filled this room with shadows. The team clustered at the bottom of the steps, blocking my view. As they shuffled slowly out of the way, I caught sight of what had stopped everyone else in their tracks.

A glass wall separated us from what looked like a large cell. The only entry point into the cell was another thick metal door with a security pad next to it. Behind the glass, three people stood as far away from one another as they could possibly get within the enclosed space: a hugely tall man, a woman with blond hair that hung past her waist, and a smaller man. All three were nude.

They looked human but . . . wrong somehow. Despite their lack of clothing, they made no effort to cover themselves. The larger man’s muscles bulged in odd places. While the woman wasn’t as massive, her body was more toned than any woman I’d ever met, more so than even Elder Ethereal.

From across the room, their black eyes cut through the darkness. A chill raced up and down my back like icy fingertips.

I stared at the smaller man. His eyes bore through me. I wondered if he saw me at all, or if he just happened to be looking where I was standing. At first glance, I’d thought him to be relatively slight. Although the other man dwarfed him, his thin arms were as tight as a predator’s, coiled to strike. The sharp planes of his face only emphasized the eerie black of his eyes, sunken into their sockets.

Loken’s voice startled me from the man’s hypnotic gaze. “In case you haven’t guessed it, these three are—”

“Mages,” I whispered.





a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, April 25, 2013

The Iron Locket by Samantha Warren



This book is a little bit different from what we have had on the blog previously. The 4 Queens of Faery have decided to bring King Arthur and the Knights of the Round Table back to life 2000 years after their deaths. Kane, Prince of the West, has turned on his family and joined the witch Leanansidhe in an attempt to take over Faery. His mother along with the other 3 queens ask King Arthur and his men to fight against them to save their world. King Arthur accepts the challenge and goes with his men into battle.  Aiofe Callaghan is the next in a long line of Hunters started by the Queen of the West (Kane's mother) to hunt down any fae that cross into the human world. Aiofe was hunting down a sprite and accidentally crossed into Faery. She walks straight into the battle. When Arthur sees Aiofe his world is once again turned upside down. There is an instant chemistry between the two and they are Arthur promises the Queen he will protect Aiofe at all costs. 

I am a little conflicted on this book. I want to give it 2 different scores. At first I was like oh...this is going to be interesting since I really like King Arthur and I kind of hate Guinevere.  It is a little different in that she is bringing them back to life and giving them another chance.  I also like books about Faery (I mean HELLO my favorite series is about the walls b/t man and Faery falling!) so I was excited to read this book.  Then I started it...and I was like OMG I can't read this I am SO bored...I can't remember the last book I have not wanted to finish so I was really disappointed. I went ahead and powered through and I am SOOOOO GLAD that I did...the second half of this book is AWESOME! I enjoyed the battle scenes not too bloody or gory but descriptive. I like that Samantha Warren described how even the war horses used knew to fight and took care of themselves and their riders. I liked seeing Arthur and his knights in action and when they meet Aiofe they are still gentlemen and you realize guys aren't like that today. I like Aiofe. She is not some whining heroine that has to have a man to be happy but she also isn't so jaded that she hates all men. She is a normal girl that takes her responsibility seriously.  All I can say about the ending is Holy cliffhanger, Batman! I am looking forward to the next book.

If I were to seperate the book I would give the 1st half a 2 because it was so hard to get through but I would give the 2nd half a 4 b/c I could not put the book down.  So I am going to meet in the middle and give the whole book a 3.5.  All I can say is POWER THROUGH PPL! It is worth the read. 



Author

BIO: Samantha Warren is a fantasy and science fiction author who spends her days immersed in dragons, spaceships, and vampires. With her pet dragon, Anethesis, she ventured to the ends of the universe, but the cost of space travel cut into her sock fetish fund, so she sold her ship and returned home. When she isn’t writing, she’s milking cows or trying to feed them Pop-Tarts. She spends a lot of time in her weed patch (aka: garden), watching any show featuring Gordon Ramsay, or posting random things on her blog (http://www.samantha-warren.com).
Buy Links


Sunny

Wednesday, April 24, 2013

Taking Nerd to a WHOLE New Level!


I was feeling a little nostalgic last week since I was home in Austin. I was thinking back and I can't remember a time that I wasn't reading. I can still remember my first favorite book, Curduroy. I loved this book and part of me thinks that this book is the reason I always picked the ugliest, dirtiest, most unloved stuffed animals when I was little. I always felt bad for them and hated thinking that nobody was going to buy them (I know...I have no feelings for people but stuffed animals I have tons).


To go along with always having been a book nerd...I was thinking back to those summers when my sister and I would have contests to see who could read the most books in a week. I think this trained me so that even now I can usually a book a day. If it takes more than a day for me to read a book now I am either so swamped at work I can barely stay awake to drive home, the book is ridiculously long or I hate it.  So I was thinking about those summers and you know what books we read??? SWEET VALLEY HIGH!!! Loved those books and had the GAME!!!


Not too long ago at work we were talking about the books that we read as kids (there are a group of us that read--although Darra and I take it to a whole new level) and so we looked up SVH and GUESS WHAT??? Francine Pascal has written the twins as adults!!!!! This is so on my TO READ LIST and yes I am out of control and have started a list of books for my sister to read this summer (she is a teacher so I have to wait for summer) and we are going back to Sweet Valley, California!!!  The next book is called Sweet Valley Confidential and it is set 10 after the original series ends. THEN she has started another series called the Sweet Life...Jessica and Elizabeth are in their 30s!!! I am hoping that I can love this series!!!! 


Being the super nerd that I am I had a favorite author in high school and even named one of my dogs after him. I even went several months ago and reread a book that he wrote and has expanded on since then. I LOVED his books and still think about some of the plots. My favorite book from him is Remember Me and I think I am going to add this book to my summer list...


On a Different Nerd Level:

Have you ever had a dream where all the books you have read in the last few weeks/months? I mean to the point of you have the super cool, super hot AWESOME guy you are totally into but he is selling coke to all your friends...and then you have the really cute sweet guy that you should totally fall for...you know the one that saved the beaten little kid from the streets but are totally going to end up going for the hot, misunderstood drug dealer.  I haven't either but SOMEONE I know is on a totally different nerd level and I think it is hilarious! (actually I may be a little jealous that even asleep I don't have enough of an imagination to write my own book/dream)

So my question for you guys...what books did you read as a kid? Would you like to see the characters in their adult lives? Do you think it would ruin your memories? Do you think the books that you read as a kid shape you now?  Let me know...or if you have read any of these adult Sweet Valley books tell me what you think!!!!! I am so excited to go down memory lane again!!!!

Sunny

Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Twisted Perfection


Go to the Adults Page and check out my review of Abbi Glines' book Twisted Perfection! I loved it but it is definitely an adult read.  I know yesterday I said I wasn't going to read this but....well....I have no self control.

Sunny

Monday, April 22, 2013

Cover Reveal and Giveaway: WILDFIRE GOSPEL by Kenya Wright

 
I'm not even going to lie to you. Writing the third book was fun!! It's probably my favorite one out of the series so far, because the characters' powers have evolved and. . .I'm continuing to grow as a writer. 

Writing has become a second skin for me now, and walking through the Santeria Habitat is like visiting home.

Check out the cover, blurb, and enter the giveaway to win a $30 Amazon Gift Card!


                                  



   Lanore's TO  DO    LIST         
                              
#1- Set Dante on fire until he’s nothing but smoke and ash.

#2- Find Nona and Mother Earth, tie them to a tree, and create the biggest bonfire Santeria has ever seen.

#3- Find out if there is anybody higher in Mother Earth's psychotic chain of command.

#4- Burn anybody else to a crisp if they get in my fucking way.

Lanore destroys her old beliefs of nonviolence. Flames of revenge now fuel her movements forward. Too many of her loved ones have died and she's done shedding tears. Sadly, she can't boil Dante's blood just yet. He has the resources to help Zulu and her. And they really need them. Discovering Mother Earth's whereabouts is difficult to say the least. She's not what they thought she was. She's something more. 

Meanwhile, Lanore's father is missing. Normally, that wouldn't trigger her to stress, but there's been whispers spreading around the habitat like a wildfire. People have spotted a Demon with feline eyes and fire spotted cheetah skin, one that appeared at the Masquerade Ball right after MeShack was killed. She's hoping Graham will have some answers. 

Is this Demon a coincidence or nothing at all? Is she's just grasping at a last bit of hope that somehow MeShack is alive or should she face the truth of his death? 



GRAB YOUR TEAM BUTTONS










a Rafflecopter giveaway

Twisted Perfection by Abbi Glines Is RELEASED!


Twisted Perfection!

So for those of you that loved Fallen Too Far and Never Too Far by Abbi Glines get prepared to read Woods' story. I am conflicted on if I want to read this one but I am pretty sure that I will. I still have to catch up from being out all last week. I really liked Woods but I always worry that the new character is not going to be as interesting to me. So if any of you read this before let me know what you think. I am pretty sure it is going to be good b/c Abbi Glines is awesome.

Sunny

Sunday, April 21, 2013

Went out to a concert...


So yesterday I went to a concert that had many bands and it was a great concert. Shinedown was the headliners. I knew the singer had long hair, which of course is what most rockers have. HOWEVER, they come out on stage and they are all wearing suits. The singer had the whole set up without a jacket(just like on the picture above). The singer is okay looking. But with his awesome voice, nice short blond hair and the outfit, DAMN! And the tattoo sleeves.

I have moved over to team rockers now. This is the winning look for this week. A man with style and tatt's. Awesome.

I will be adding them to the playlist. They should have been on there before. He really can sing and the band is great.

Darra

Thursday, April 18, 2013

And the DATE ME Winner is....


Congratulations Alissa!!! You won a copy of Date Me by Jillian Dodd!!! I will contact you this afternoon to get your information so that Jillian can send you your eBook!!! Thank you everyone that participated, Darra and I appreciate it.  I am sure that we will have more giveaways in the near future. We also have some reviews that will go up soon and keep your eyes out for an author interview.  Also, don't forget to check out our Facebook page and our Adult section on the blog. Happy Thursday People!

Sunny

Wednesday, April 17, 2013

Only 1 DAY Left!!!

Tomorrow we are picking the DATE ME giveaway by Jillian Dodd!!! Make sure you go to the original post and comment on it!!! It is the 3rd installment of the Keatyn Chronicles.   If you have not read these books go and get them...start NOW!!!  The books go:

Stalk Me

Kiss Me


Date Me


Sunny


Monday, April 15, 2013

And The Lucky Winner is....

And the winner of the latest book from Jamie McGuire, Walking Disaster, Spark and the butterflies that go along with the book is.............Adam!


Congrats!
 There is another contest for Jillian Dodd's book, Date Me that you will need to comment on that post and follow us to get a chance to win the book. Get on that. The post is below!

More contests are to come!

Saturday, April 13, 2013

Strung Along

I have had a really crappy week. So what is best way to fix a crappy week. A good book of course! Now there is a point to this. I just want to say that I am strung out. Not now, but will be later this weekend. I have several books lined up to read. I already know they will be series.
I will be distraught. It is like getting a bite of the best icecream. You absolutely can't wait for the next bite and they take the spoon away with the icecream.
I want the rest of my icecream! And I have to wait months for the next taste.Damn you authors! You string along all these people for months. But still, we can't help but love you. But write faster so I stay sane. Much Love!
Darra

Friday, April 12, 2013

I need Spark!

I am sooo tired. I Need Spark! This has been such a long week. Follow us and you will be in the contest to win this next Monday. You better hurry before I take it all!

Thursday, April 11, 2013

Ladies...and well Ladies



We have a new book on the Adult Content tab.
The book is by Erin Noelle.
For all you 18+, check it out.
Got to give love to the books that go the extra step.
And more. :-)
See you soon,
Darra

Wednesday, April 10, 2013

Date Me (The Keatyn Chronicles, #3) by Jillian Dodd

Date Me Released Yesterday!!!



Book Description:

I’m not scripting my life anymore.
I’m living it.
I’m done with the God of all Hotties.
I’m going to give my heart to the boy who I think deserves it.
The boy whose kisses are hotter than molten lava.
The boy who offered me the key to his heart.
The boy who asked me to Homecoming in a big, sexy way.

There are so many things to look forward to.
Parties at the Cave. Homecoming festivities. Drama Tryouts. Shopping trips to NY.
But things aren’t always as perfect as they seem.
I find out that my best friend has been keeping a secret from me.
Not that I can blame him. 
I have secrets too.
But, for now, I’m going to pretend I’m just a normal girl.
I’m going to pretend he’s not still out there.
I’m going to pretend he’s not getting desperate.
I’m going to pretend I’ll never see him again.
But, I will.
And this time, I might not get away.

WIN A FREE eBOOK COPY OF DATE ME!!

Jillian Dodd is giving away a copy of Date Me for your eReader! All you have to do is follow this blog and COMMENT on this post and you will be entered to win. The winner will be randomly picked Thursday, April 18th so that we can get the information to AToMR Tours. GOOD LUCK!!!!

Read an Excerpt from DATE ME below!

Aiden is standing in front of me, expecting me to teach him how to dance. Why did I ever agree to this?
“This is silly,” I say. “I can’t teach you how to dance. Plus, I’m injured.”
“I saw you jogging at soccer practice, even though I doubt you were supposed to.”
I laugh. “I took another pain pill. Felt healed.”
He stands there and stares at me. Knows he wins whatever game he’s trying to play. If I could jog, then I should be fine to dance. I sigh and figure I'll just get it over. I turn on my favorite dance playlist, grab his hips, and move them to the beat. Move them with mine.
He moves awkwardly. Strangely. With no rhythm whatsoever.
Um, okay.
This is not working.
I turn around, standing in front of him, push my back into his chest and pull his arm around to my stomach, where it presses against my bare skin.
Leaving a scar, I'm sure.
I shake my ass into him, and he finally seems to be getting it. He’s moving with a little more rhythm.
What can I say? I’m a good teacher.
I put my hands on top of his and move them around on my body in the name of dancing.
This would be even funner if we were naked.
Shit.
Hello? You can’t think that.
This is you helping a dance-disabled friend.
It’s practically philanthropical. I bet I could get community service hours for this.

Sunny's Quick Opinion:

I started reading this series after I read That Boy by Jillian Dodd. If you have not read it you should...so AWESOME! I really enjoy this series too. This is a YA/New Adult book but it is hard to remember that Keatyn is only 17 and in high school.  I finished this book in less than a day. If you have not started the Keatyn Chronicles seriously get on it. It is very good. Then you can decide for yourself if you are TEAM DAWSON, TEAM AIDEN, TEAM CUSH, TEAM BROOKLYN...I mean she has so many HOT guys to choose from it is INSANE!  I know you are all dying to know my pick....TOTALLY TEAM AIDEN!!!!! He is not up to Phillip standards yet but hey we aren't done yet...I have hope!

If you don't want to wait to see if you won...here are the links to BUY IT!!


Sunny

About the Author











Jillian Dodd grew up on a farm in Nebraska, where she developed a love for Midwestern boys and Nebraska football. She has drank from a keg in a cornfield, attended the University of Nebraska, got to pass her candle, and did have a boy ask her to marry him in a bar. She met her own prince in college, and they have two amazing children, a Maltese named Sugar Bear, and two Labrador puppies named Camber Lacy and Cali Lucy.


She is the author of the That Boy Trilogy and The Keatyn Chronicles Series.










Monday, April 8, 2013

Belong To You by Vi Keeland




Publish Date – 4/4/13
Will be sold on – Amazon, Barnes and Noble, ibook, Smashwords, Kobo and Sony.

Summary 
My honeymoon was almost everything I dreamed it would be, a tropical paradise, turquoise water, romantic walks on the beach, and loads and loads of mind shattering sex. The only thing missing was the groom.

After seven years of coasting through a relationship with Michael, my senses were numb. A week of passion with a stranger was just what I needed to clear my head and take back control of my life. But how do you move on when the man that was only supposed to be a fling somehow seeps into your soul and steals your heart?

Darra's Review:

This book was a fantastic read. You love Jack. Where is my Jack?! Many times in books the main guy says things that are a little cheese, but Jack is the full package and believeable. Sydney is on her honeymoon after her fiance decided to do indicent things with another girl. Sienna is the crazy friend everyone should have. Why not have a one night stand? But one look with Jack, a one night stand may turn into a 5 night stand. At the end of her vacation, what will happen now? She has feelings despite trying to prevent that from happening. Will she ever see him again? She does and where does it go from here? Was it the happily ever after? Well, you will have to read it yourself. You get to find out more of who Jack is.
I will give it a 4.3. (I am nicer than Sunny :-)
Darra

Sunny's Review:

I fell head over heels for both Sydney and Jack!  I mean it can't be easy to be on your honeymoon without a groom b/c he was a cheating jerk but Syd took her best friend, Sienna. They planned to make it a week they would never forget. Sydney was supposed to have a fling to get over Michael and get back out in the dating world. Jack skyrocketed straight to the Top 5 of my book boyfriend list! He is soooooooo freaking AWESOME!  I mean rich, domineering and perfect manners...come on how perfect can you get (except he does not have blond hair and blue eyes).  

When Jack and Syd meet they decide that the week is just an almost annonymous fling while they are vacationing in Hawaii. They decide that they can each ask 10 personal questions and that's it. They have fun and you can tell that neither one of them really want it to end. They end up seeing each other again a few weeks later and realize that they are supposed to work out a relationship. Jack has never really had a relationship and has a very questionable business. They both have their issues that they are dealing with and they muddle through the beginnings of a relationship. 

This is the first book in the series and I can't wait until the next one comes out! I would give this book a 4.2 out of 5 stars. I will totally reread this book!
-Sunny






Author Bio from goodreads:
I was born and raised in New York. I've been told I have a New York accent, on more than one occasion. It is pronounced cawfee, not coffee, right? But of course, being a true New Yawka, I believe everyone else has the accent.

I am one of six children, and come from a family of "steps, halves, ours, theirs and his" children. Even though the oldest of the six is only 48, we have given my incredible mom 17 grandchildren. I have three children, two girls and a boy. My son is the oldest and is a godsend. The girls, well, they are tweens and make me drink too much wine on occasion.

I am an attorney by day, and a romance author by night! I published my first book in 2013, First Thing I See and was thrilled at the overwhelming success! My next book, Belong to You, is due out April 4, 2013, and I have the hots for the man on the cover.

I consider myself a romance author, but my books definitely have steam in them, so I guess I am technically a romance-erotica author. I am also a HUGE reader and love Sylvia Day, Kristen Ashely, and EL James.






BELONG TO YOU BLOG TOUR BOOK BLAST & HAPPY RELEASE DAY!!!

 I was born and raised in New York. I've been told I have a New York accent, on more than one occasion. It is pronounced cawfee, not coffee, right? But of course, being a true New Yawka, I believe everyone else has the accent.

I am one of six children, and come from a family of "steps, halves, ours, theirs and his" children. Even though the oldest of the six is only 48, we have given my incredible mom 17 grandchildren. I have three children, two girls and a boy. My son is the oldest and is a godsend. The girls, well, they are tweens and make me drink too much wine on occasion.

I am an attorney by day, and a romance author by night! I published my first book in 2013, First Thing I See and was thrilled at the overwhelming success! My next book, Belong to You, is due out April 4, 2013, and I have the hots for the man on the cover. ]

I consider myself a romance author, but my books definitely have steam in them, so I guess I am technically a romance-erotica author. I am also a HUGE reader and love Sylvia Day, Kristen Ashely, and EL James.

My other loves are boating, jetskiing, parking my ass at the beach and traveling. My dream vacation is a backpack, passport and an open ticket to anywhere we can explore! I don't cook, pretty much because I am terrible at it, and I have no desire to improve.

Thank you for taking the time to read about me, and I hope you enjoy reading my books as much as I like writing them!

5 STAR REVIEW
"He is one hot guy!!....Another big 5 stars from me
***
5 STAR REVIEW
"I absolutely love it."

Sunday, April 7, 2013

Apollyon by Jennifer Armentrout


Hello All. Apollyon came out early! I saw on the twitter it was available Friday night. Holy crap! I have so wrapped up in reading the book, I forgot to post it!

This is the latest installment of the Convenant Series. Amazing! Alex comes back from turning into the Apollyon and has the responsibility on her shoulders to keep Seth from taking her powers and becoming a God Killer. If that happens, Lucian and Seth will destroy any God that gets in their way. But there may be someone else that is helping tear down the walls of the council.
The book goes into much more detail about how each God can help her or tear her down. The Gods are not happy with Apollyon #1. Alex must find a way to keep peace between the Gods and Seth. How can she save Seth from being used by Lucian and see what is hapenning is wrong?
Also, I can't forget Aiden. I have been team Aiden from the beginning. But now? He has taken it to a all new level. He is such a amazing person and still hot.

I have been reading this book nonstop this weekend. Great from beginning to end. This is the reason why I love Jennifer Armentrout's books.

As they say, it was absolutely Amazeballs!

I give this book a 4.7.

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/9897164-apollyon

Darra

Friday, April 5, 2013

Beautiful Disaster & Walking Disaster By Jamie McGuire


Darra read Beautiful Disaster FOREVER ago and told me to read it. I was like "ok whatever I'll get to it when I get to it" b/c when she read it she thought that our friend Allison would love it and totally fall for Travis. When she described him I was like "yeah no don't want to read it."  So for a couple of years I refused. Then when she kept talking about Walking Disaster I was like "fine...I'll read the stupid book...geez!"  And now I have to admit that as usual Darra picks great books...hate that.  I totally fell for Travis--100%!

So Beautiful Disaster is told from Abby's POV and Walking Disaster is told from Travis' POV. Honestly, I fell for Travis in Beautiful and Walking just made me go deeper. Travis if freaking awesome and being in head just makes him that much better. The only thing that I don't like was that I started to like Abby a little less in Walking. Probably b/c I am a little jealous (yes-jealous of a fictional character-stop judging me!) but hey what can you do.  I read a review before it came out where the blogger said that she didn't think that there were many of Travis' thoughts in the book. It was mostly just his actions. I really don't know what book she was reading b/c I felt like I got a lot of his thoughts and feelings. All I can say is you should definitely read both books. I would say read Beautiful Disaster first. I don't know if there was anything that would not make sense if you read Walking first but just in case...

So I think I would give Beautiful Disaster a 4.7 and Walking Disaster a 4.8 out of 5.

Sunny

P.S. Thank you Jamie McGuire for the shirt--I love it!





We Are Giving Away A........

Signed Copy of Walking Disaster and SPARK!!!


Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire!


As you may or may not know, Darra and I went to the Walking Disaster signing at Katy Budget Books the other night. It was AWESOME!!!!! Jamie McGuire was very sweet and brought her youngest baby (who was soooooo adorable!). She was unfortunately introduced to the rush hour traffic in Houston...hopefully she won't judge us on that! She was nice enough to sign an extra book for us to giveaway to one of our followers...YAY!!!!

Because We Have ALL Stayed Up WAY Too Late Reading and need some SPARK in our DAY!


Seriously, how many times have you had to drag yourself out of bed the morning after your FAVORITE author has released the next book in your series or the book you picked up thinking it would help you fall asleep and you were WRONG!!!!  You get to the office/school/or have to take care of the kids ALL DAY and you realize that coffee just isn't going to cut it...so you need some SPARK!! I am not a coffee drinker at all but I can put a dent in the 12 pack of Coke pretty quick most mornings. Spark is a better option. Since I started drinking it I am a lot more focused at work and have the energy to make it through the 15-16 hours I am going most days. Honestly, total LIFESAVER! It is healthy for you...tastes WAY BETTER than the energy drinks that I get at the gas station and CHEAPER!  I am putting the link to Tara's page for you to check it out and if you have questions I can forward on to her (I just drink and push it!).  We are adding a box of Spark to this giveaway b/c we think that you will need it to make it through the day after staying up all night reading Walking Disaster. 


Beautiful Butterflies!!!!


Katy Budget Books had some really cute items in the store and we won one of them!!! We thought it was a great gift to go along with the book. This is a strand of beautiful butterflies. They can make any room SPARKLE!

THE RULES TO WIN!


All you have to do is go to the side of our page and click the FOLLOW button. Sign up to follow our blog and we will enter your name into the drawing. If you are our follower and go to our Facebook page and like us there, we will add your name into the drawing again so you will DOUBLE your chance to win. We are going to close the giveaway on Monday, April 15 at 9AM.  This will be a random selection drawing. We will  put the name of the winner up on that Monday so that you can send us your information. Darra and I are really excited about this!!!!!

The Butterflies!

GOOD LUCK!!!
SUNNY

Thursday, April 4, 2013

Book Tour with Jamie McGuire & GIVEAWAY!

Darra at the Jamie McGuire book signing yesterday. Had a blast and she is great. We love Walking Disaster. If you don't live in Houston, go to her website. She is going to several cities!
And here is Sunny at last night at the book signing as well.

Sunny and I will be giving away a signed Walking Disaster book this week. Make sure that you check out our blog to sign up for that book! It should be up by tomorrow.

Thanks Readers!