Thursday, January 19, 2017

Wild Poppy by Vivian Winslow Review and Giveaway!


Wild Poppy
Vivian Winslow
(Wildflowers, #4)
Publication date: December 6th 2016
Genres: New Adult, Romance
The daughter of a renown media mogul, Poppy Koslowski has her life turned upside down overnight when her father is indicted for a massive fraud that leads to the loss of her family’s fortune. In the wake of the scandal, Poppy moves to Paris at the behest of her aunt, the Countess Domel, who, unbeknownst to Poppy, intends to find a wealthy husband for her niece in order to ensure her future. Poppy, however, has her own dreams of finishing school and realizing her goal of becoming an award-winning journalist. When she meets Henri Olin, the passionate and seductive illegitimate son of one of France’s most powerful politicians, his political and social ideology introduces Poppy to a world very different from her own. Yet, Poppy ultimately learns that everything comes at a price, even love. After suffering a devastating loss, Poppy finds herself alone and virtually penniless, and is forced to make her way back to America to piece together the remnants of her life in New York City. There, she rediscovers her passion once again, only to be confronted with yet another life choice, one that will forever shape her destiny.
Previous books in the series:
26246266 28673317 30182015

Darra's Review:


I have been holding off on writing this because I would hate not to do the book justice. I am a huge fan of Vivian's book. I have read both the Wildflower and The Gilded Flowers series and that is why this has been one of the most anticipated books I wanted to read in 2016. It it did not let me down. Vivian has written her best book to date.
I recommend reading both series so you have some background on her family along with others and how Poppy affected their lives. Poppy has made an impression on so many people. You have no idea how just one person could change each one's life. She is an enigma, a woman like no other. She only be a character in a book. But she is so much more. She needs the commercial. The Most Interesting Woman In The World!
This book starts from the beginning of her adult life. With no life experience besides watching her family life being torn and her Mom's questionable decisions. Just like the other Wildflower stories, she has came to life meeting new people. She meets a man and falls for him. Not a perfect, happily ever after. Then real life happens and she must live with the consequences. It brought me to tears. I can't imagine having to make those life changing decisions at such a young age. Heart breaking.
With all this, she moves on with her life. She finds what she never expected. Love. However life is not so simple. She goes through so many hurdles and my heart breaks for her. But she is a unbelievably strong woman and handles it with grace. There is so much to her and sometimes life is unfair. I really don't want want to go into much detail about the plot because every moment is important. This was her life. In the Gilded Flowers, you find out what she became after her 20's. Who she was at the end was because of the decisions made earlier. I never thought some of the things she did to her own children had justification. However from what happened to her, she knows what she wants for her children. An easier life and no burdens.
Poppy is amazing to say the least. The strongest and smartest female character I have read and cannot imagine finding another one like her. I could not get enough of her. I could read 3 more books about her. Poppy has seemed to lived a hundred life's and want more happiness for her. I wanted to be there for all of it. To know her every thought.

I wish for more of her. She is by far the reason why this book is remarkable. Not only the story of her life, but of because who she is and who she became. By the way, the ending? Mouth dropping.

I cannot express how much I believe you need to read this. Beautiful writing and theses are the books that you will carry in your mind for years. I rate the book a 4.9. I read this in December and think about it every week. The fill in the blanks I make up in my mind.



Author Bio:
Vivian Winslow was born and raised in Southern California. Before becoming a writer, she made a career out of moving around the world every couple of years thanks to her husband’s job and her incurable wanderlust. She currently lives in New York City with her husband and two elementary school age children, and is grateful to finally have a place to call home for more than two years.
New York is the perfect city to indulge her love of fashion, the arts and especially food. If she’s not at home writing or running around the city with her kids, you’ll most likely find her eating at the newest restaurant in her beloved Lower East Side or having a cocktail at her favorite bar in Alphabet City. That said, she’s still a California girl at heart and would gladly trade in her heels for a pair of flip-flops to catch a sunset on the beach.

XBTBanner1

Wednesday, January 18, 2017

Offensive Rebound by MJ Fields!!!




Blurb
TRAE

It's a call that changes my life--and my little girl's. Years ago, playing for the NBA was the dream, but the Seattle Stallions suck. Worse than that, my old teammate is now the star center--not to mention my number one rival. There has to be a catch, some sort of agenda. Before I was injured, I was the best. Now? There's no way they want me.

But when I see the roster and salaries, it all comes together. It's a chance to get on the court again and change our lives. And I just can't wait for the opportunity to finally take him down. What I never counted on is Courtney Cohen being the game changer.

COURTNEY


I inherited the Bad News Bears of the NBA. When I discovered the star center, my ex fiancé, cheating on me, all I want is to jump ship before the whole thing sinks. But with revenge on my mind, I exact a plan. Take down the dirty player and save my father's dream.

Suddenly twelve minutes is too little time, and a season is not long enough.


Darra's Review:

Usually sports books are not my thing. However I had to make an exception for MJ Fields. I am glad I did. Enjoyed both Trae and Courtney. Despite the typical man whore, Trae left a soft spot in my heart. He was so much more than just a Basketball player. He was a father, and loved fiercely. Courtney loved her father and wanted to make him proud. Her father left a hell of a job to take over. However she owns it. With all that and then having feelings for a guy that is only their for a season, she has to make up her mind what is best for her.
Am I going to tell you more? No. You have to read it!

I rate the book a 4.4 out of 5. 

Sunny's Review:

I actually really liked this book. I was not sure if I was going to because basketball and basketball players are not really my thing. Courtney is young and put in charge of a brand new basketball team when her father dies. She trusts her fiance to handle things for her and it blows up in her face. She decides to go and take over her team and try to make it a success. Trae was one of the Olympian basketball players but injury cut his career short. I was not sure if he was going to be a good guy or not. I ended up really liking both characters. Courtney was strong and determined but still made a lot of mistakes because she is young. Trae ends up really being a great guy and I love him.

This was a fun quick read. I am giving this book 4.4 stars out of 5. Go get it!!



Offensive Rebound by MJ Fields is
NOW AVAILABLE.

Meet Trae in this sports romance TODAY!

Google Play: http://bit.ly/2jKjsyY
Add to your TBR: http://bit.ly/2fMFy5x

EXCERPT
“You still afraid of me?” Courtney asks. I push her hair out of her face. “No.” “I’m afraid of you.” “No beer muscles tonight?” I ask, glancing at her empty glasses. She shakes her head. I scoot in closer to her. “Tell me what you’re afraid of.” “Liking you too much,” she says then takes a drink. I turn her in her seat so she’s facing me. “You’re gonna like me even more when I’m inside you.” Her body grows taut. “You can’t say stuff like that. It makes me uncomfortable.” “Well, now I’m going to have to do it more often to get you used to it; make you crave it, beg for it.”

About the Author

USA Today bestselling author MJ Fields love of writing was in full swing by age eight.
Together with her cousins, she wrote a newsletter and sold it for ten cents to family members.
She self-published her first contemporary, new adult romance in January 2013. Today she has completed seven self-published series, The Love series, The Wrapped series, The Burning Souls series, The Men of Steel series, Ties of Steel series, The Rockers of Steel series and The Norfolk series.
MJ is a hybrid author and publishes an Indie book almost every month, and is signed with a traditional publisher, Loveswept, Penguin Random House, for her co- written series The Caldwell Brothers. Hendrix, Morrison, and Jagger. All three books in the series are published. The Caldwell brothers don’t grow into alphas, when their mother passes away they become her legacy, her good in the world of bad.
MJ was a former small business owner, who closed shop so she could write full time. She lives in central New York, surrounded by family and friends. Her house is full of pets, friends, and noise ninety percent of the time, and she would have it no other way.
Stalk Her:  Website | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | Tumblr
Sign up for MJ’s monthly newsletter with giveaways: http://bit.ly/mjupdates

GIVEAWAY
$25 Amazon Gift Card & Signed Paperback





Excerpt Reveal: LoveSick by T.L. Smith!!!

Title: Lovesick
Author: TL Smith
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: February 1
Goodreads
Synopsis
I couldn’t do broken.

Broken is what he was.

Broken is what I will always be.

To his eyes, that held so much despair, I couldn’t look for long.

To his fist, that clenched so tightly, like he was locking away the sorrow.

To his lips, that never uttered a word, from the years of heartbreak.

And despite it all, I couldn’t stay away from him.

It was like he was drowning in an ocean, and I wanted to grab his face, and whisper to his lips, 

“Don’t forget to breathe.”

This was how I fell for a man. A man who was so lovesick, I was afraid he would drown me in that same ocean he was lost in.

***Standalone***

Lovesick Teaser 2

Excerpt
I used to believe I was a strong woman, a good woman, a faithful woman. I had dreams, things I wanted to accomplish, places I wanted to visit. Things I wanted to do and see.
My hands rubbed softly on my upper thigh. I tried to stop the wince that accompanied that action, but escaped me anyway. My hand lifted slowly, I looked at my nails, they were chewed right down to the skin. I used to love my nails, now I looked at them and despised them as much as I despised my weaknesses—the pitiful looks that I got from others, my hair that hadn’t been colored for over a year, my dry and broken skin that felt like sandpaper, my gaunt and haggard eyes.
My mind—well, that’s beyond repair. Questions like ‘would I ever be pretty enough or smart enough’ for his love ran rampant through my mind. Instead, all I got was his fists. They loved me, he told me so.
I listened hard as his footsteps came closer. I hadn’t cooked dinner because I’d lost track of time, sitting in that bathroom, listening to my own heartbeat, reminding me that I was still alive. Reminding me  I could still breathe, still function, but only barely.
His fists crashed down hard on the door rocking it on the hinges, my body pulled itself in tighter, gripping harder onto the very foundations of my sanity. It didn’t want me to move, it wanted me to stay safe, to heal.
My mind knew otherwise. It knew that if I didn’t move within the next sixty seconds, more would follow, his patience would run thin, very thin. The second wave of his fists came down on the door, this time the ferocity of the jolts moved the door back and forth. I could hear the sounds of wood cracking and splintering slightly with every impact. My arms pull tighter, my body went rigid.
I internally screamed at myself to shift—just to get up and move.
You can do it I told myself. But my body had had enough, knowing that it couldn’t take any more punishment. It plain and simply didn’t want to accept any more.
I loved him so fiercely, so blindly that I gave him my all, and in return he gave me fractions of himself then his fists. His punishments hurt, but then he would kiss me with scolding passion, telling me I was the only one for him. I wanted to believe what he told me, I wanted to believe that our love could overcome his evil actions. I wanted to believe that five years ago when he first struck me—believing it was my fault—that it would only be that one time, and that he loved me so much he would never dare hurt me on purpose again.
Pushing thirty seconds, the time had clicked away in my head slowly. Those thirty seconds felt more like a lifetime. Again I attempted to force my body to move, screaming that there was only a mere thirty seconds at the most remaining. Yet again, it chose to ignore me. It was like we had been separated, something I knew I should have done with Jamie the first time five long years ago. Love is blind.
There was three more sets of pounding and counting, his cold hard voice started to permeate through the bathroom door. He told me to open it, to get out there. I didn’t reply, afraid of how my voice would deceive me.
I tried wiggling my toes, using all my concentration to work on that tiny action. It worked, I closed my eyes and willed my legs to move.
I just need to stand, I prayed to them.
The pounding had gotten harder, the banging louder as he frantically went about his fourth attempt. His temper was now raging. If I didn’t open that door in the next ten seconds, it would be torn from its hinges, I knew it would.
My hands clenched into fists, my eyes closed, a single tear escaped my eye. I wondered why, as my hand went up to touch it. I couldn’t remember the last time I cried or the last tear I’d shed. It all stayed inside, eating and chewing away at me. A war within my body raged that I knew I couldn’t win, but chose to try.
I looked down at my wet finger, while my other eye remained dry.
How odd. A single tear? Just the one escaping and running for its freedom. I wiped it across my shirt so it couldn’t escape. If I couldn’t, it couldn’t. It was only fair.
My hand landed on the door handle just as his hammering came again, and I managed to turn and open it. He stood there, tall and expansive. Stunningly gorgeous. He’d come straight from the gym, his shirt was off, his shoulders broad. His skin glistened with sweat.
How could someone so evil look like that? His mouth was tight, his hands were opening and closing at his sides. With all the pounding he’d done on the door, there were tiny blotches of blood on his knuckles. He was attempting to release the anger he had for me through his tight-clenched fists. I didn’t even know why. His hazel eyes closed, just for a brief second, enough time for me to take a deep breath before he stepped closer and I instinctively shuffled back the smallest of steps hoping he wouldn’t notice.
His hand came up, my insides screamed, my body wanted to bolt. But it was a gentle hand that touched my face, deceiving me again. I never closed my eyes to him anymore, I wanted to see the look on his face, store it in my memory for safe keeping every time he was angry. At first, it was to collect clues, to consider what it was I was doing to make him angry, and now it was just a habit. I couldn’t close them, even when I was choking I couldn’t close them. I needed to see that demonic fire in his eyes, remember it, preserve it, use it.
“Baby,” he whispered, stepping even closer. His touch on my skin was hot, scalding, burning me with an intensity that could melt steel, while his other hand grabbed at my hip. He leaned in, his lips touched mine, just softly.
I loved him, I hated him. I couldn’t figure out between the two feelings which were worse.
“I’ve missed you.” His hands came around my hips, circling, until they reached my ass and he squeezed hard. He breathed me in when his mouth left mine. Slow and soft kisses touched my shoulders. This was the part I hated myself the most for. That no matter how much I hated him, he was the only man who knew how to touch me. To make me only see him, to only want him. I. Hated. That.
He pushed himself into the bathroom fully, shutting the door that I struggled so hard to open. Closing it like there was no effort at all involved, while I fought with every ounce of strength I could muster within me to open it. He lifted my tender body, placing me in the shower, stripping my dress, and kissed every mark that he’d marked on me. I didn’t move, and soon he was as naked as me, the cold water running down my breasts. His hands ran up and down not so tenderly this time as he lifted and slammed me against the bathroom wall. My breath hitched. My breathing became hard for two reasons, one it hurt and two he was about to make me come. Even when I knew it was wrong, even when he whispered his love in my ear, I screamed internally my body shaking.
He carried me to our room, a room that was full of everything that was his. A single drawer to my name. I didn’t have much, he didn’t allow me the pleasure of my own things.
He laid me on the bed then got on top of me, his eyes shone brightly.
“I’m leaving you.” I rush the words out.
It was my body, my mind, and it seemed to have gained some control. My insides screamed, why must you do this? His eyes went wide, my hands started to sweat. Those beautiful lips became hard to mine. His hands moved from my side, snaked up around my neck, and I took one last breath as I watched the love of my life, the only man I’d ever loved, squeeze the life right out of me.
Like it was nothing.

PreOrder Now
Lovesick Coming Soon

B&N * KOBO * iBOOKS

Giveaway

ENTER TO WIN A KINDLE FIRE

About the Author
TL-200x300-1
T.L Smith Lover of chocolate, books, but mostly words.
T.L Smith loves to travel, loves to shop for books, sometimes shoes 😉
Don’t be shy about contacting T.L Smith, she doesn’t bite, hard!


Hosted By:
Logo PNG (1)

Monday, January 16, 2017

Egomaniac by Vi Keeland is LIVE!!!!

egomaniac-available-now   

 Synopsis:

The night I met Drew Jagger, he’d just broken into my new Park Avenue office. I dialed 9-1-1 before proceeding to attack him with my fancy new Krav Maga skills. He quickly restrained me, then chuckled, finding my attempted assault amusing.

Of course, my intruder had to be arrogant. Only, turned out, he wasn’t an intruder at all.

Drew was the rightful occupant of my new office. He’d been on vacation while his posh space was renovated. Which was how a scammer got away with leasing me office space that wasn’t really available for rent. I was swindled out of ten grand.

The next day, after hours at the police station, Drew took pity on me and made me an offer I couldn’t refuse. In exchange for answering his phones while his secretary was out, he’d let me stay until I found a new place. I probably should have acted grateful and kept my mouth shut when I overheard the advice he was spewing to his clients. But I couldn’t help giving him a piece of my mind. I never expected my body to react every time we argued. Especially when that was all we seemed to be able to do.

The two of us were complete opposites. Drew was a bitter, angry, gorgeous-as-all-hell, destroyer of relationships. And my job was to help people save their marriages. The only thing the two of us had in common was the space we were sharing. And an attraction that was getting harder to deny by the day.

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000038_00072]

Available for Pre-order on iBooks, B&N, Google Play, and Kobo now!

    em-teaser-3     em-teaser-1  

About Vi Keeland:

author-photoVi Keeland is a #1 New York Times Bestselling author. With more than a million books sold, her titles have appeared in over fifty Bestseller lists and are currently translated in twelve languages. She resides in New York with her husband and their three children where she is living out her own happily ever after with the boy she met at age six.   Website | Facebook Fan Group | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram




Friday, January 13, 2017

COVER REVEAL: Repossess by Jennifer Foor!!!

  repossessamazonkdp1


We are excited to bring you the cover for the upcoming standalone by Jennifer Foor, REPOSSESS releasing on February 24, 2017!


Raised by my four brothers, I'm the poster girl of a hot-mess. A sucker for cheating assholes and shitty friends. It's the reason I've come home. The only reason! I arrive to find the family business in shambles. My brothers have managed to run it into the ground. With new competition, the stakes are high, especially when I realize whose stealing all of the business out from under us. Seeing him again isn't the hard part. I'm over Crane Lord, his cocky, dangerous sex appeal, his criminal ways of getting by, and how he used to own every part of me. He's the enemy. I don't want him. I can't. Shit!   *Contains Adult Language and Content. Some sexual situations*

PRE- ORDER NOW

iBooks | KOBO | Amazon US | Amazon UK


repossessamazonkdp1
 

EXCERPT

The driver pulls into the parking lot of my chosen location and spats off the amount I owe him. I pull out my ex’s bank card and wait. When he gives me a paper to sign, I tip him a hundred bucks. He graciously thanks me with his Russian accent, in which I return an easy smile and tell him it was my pleasure. I’m spiteful and it feels so fucking good. Revenge to me is like a fine aged wine is to a hoity-toity Stepford wife. It’s my happy place where I know I won’t be a victim of my stupidity. My day is spent on a new tattoo; a piece representing the lying douchebag who doesn’t have a clue who he’s dealing with. It’s a giant cockroach with a vividly detailed Chuck Taylor slamming down on it. Underneath it states, ‘paybacks are a bitch and so am I’. Every single second of the needle penetrating my skin absolved the time and effort I’d put forth on another failed relationship. I’ve been around guys my whole life. He’s a dime a dozen. My only regret was getting serious in the first place. I should have learned a long time ago that you can’t count on anyone, at least not anyone I know.

    repossess      

A Maryland native who spends most of her time devising a plan to live off the land on some remote island, where no one will ever find her.

She is a married mother of two kids, who may or may not drive her completely bonkers. In her spare time she enjoys shooting pool, camping and spending time with friends and family.

authorblurb

WEBSITE | FACEBOOK | TWITTER | GOODREADS | AMAZON AUTHOR PAGE NEWSLETTER

Tuesday, January 10, 2017

Clam Jam by RC Boldt!!!

       


 

Synopsis

“Clam Jam”   Definition: the female equivalent of a cock block.   Example: You’re chatting with a guy you’re interested in and your friend comes along and lays claim to him.  

Maggie   That’s my life—except it’s worse. My friend who keeps “jamming” me is my gay roommate and if that isn’t a W.T.F. moment, I’m not sure what is.   Fact: He went home with three—yes, three—of the guys I had been so sure were into me.   Fact: He’s really pissing me off. I mean, hello? I’m trying to get back in the saddle, but I’ll never manage to get a boyfriend before the age of fifty if he keeps this up.   Fact: Secretly, I wonder what it would be like if he weren’t gay. Why do all the hot, sweet, tender-hearted guys have to be gay?   Fact: My gay-dar needs a serious tune-up.  

Ry   The day I interviewed for the room to rent, everything changed. I knew I had met “the girl”, except there was one small problem: she didn’t want anything to do with men. I recognized a top-notch force field when I saw one. She’d been burned badly and didn’t want to deal with a heterosexual guy as a roommate. I could’ve turned around and found another place to live, but I wanted to live there—with her.   So I had to go “undercover”.   Fact: I’m in love with my roommate.   Fact: I’m a likely candidate for carpal tunnel surgery since all the action I’ve had for the past year has been my hand.   Fact: She’s going to hate me if I come clean now.   Fact: I’m not giving up. Which means, I’ll just have to continue to run defense until I figure out a way to get Maggie to see the “real” me.   The me that loves her.   The me that would never do her wrong.   Until then, I’ll keep running off every guy who shows any interest.   Until then, I’ll continue to Clam Jam.    

Goodreads   

Darra's Review: 

I thought when you have a funny title to your book, it must have some comedy to it. Funny, check. Cute, check. Sweet, check. I loved Ry. He should be on one of my favorite lists. It is ridiculous what he goes through to keep her away from other guys. And if I was Maggie, I would be frustrated as well. How could he keep this up for so long?! I wanted a HEA for Maggie after that douche of an ex did that to her. Hence the reason why she did not want a straight man living with her. Only if she knew. Thank god she didn't so we could read how awesome Ry is for her.
They deserved each other. Although Maggie was not on the band wagon when she found out. I would have been all over him! He made me sigh(swoon) sometimes. Also, Ry's best friend was hilarious too.

Loved the book because it was just a fun read. No intensity and darkness. This is a book to read when you are in a funk and need a laugh.

I rate the book a 4.5 out of 5. 

Sunny's Review: 

So Darra picked this book for us totally based on the title. I can say that we were not disappointed. This book was really funny and I enjoyed it. It was a nice easy read and I finished it in a day. I like the characters. Maggie is looking for a roommate and does not want to room with a woman or straight man. Ry decides on the spot to tell Maggie that he is gay and their friendship begins. Ry spends the majority of his time getting to know Maggie and they end up best friends. Maggie believes Ry’s lie and ends up trusting him more than pretty much anyone. As the year goes along, Ry falls more and more for Maggie and when she decides that she is ready to date again he has to come up with a way to clam jam her. Maggie cannot figure out why all the guys she is interested in fall for Ry or end up leaving with no explanation. The lengths that Ry goes to in order to keep Maggie himself are pretty funny.

Again, this book is an easy read and I loved it. I am giving it 4.5 stars out of 5. Go get it if you want a funny and sweet book.

Purchase Links


clam-jam

Giveaway

$15 Amazon Gift Card
 
 
   
clam-jam-review-quote
   

About the Author

RC Boldt is the wife of Mr. Boldt, a retired Navy Chief, mother of Little Miss Boldt, and former teacher of many students. She currently lives on the southeastern coast of North Carolina, enjoys long walks on the beach, running, reading, people watching, and singing karaoke. If you're in the mood for some killer homemade mojitos, can't recall the lyrics to a particular 80's song, or just need to hang around a nonconformist who will do almost anything for a laugh, she's your girl.  

Connect with RC

Newsletter: http://bit.ly/2iNCOnF


Facebook Author Page: http://bit.ly/2iLz1ZZ


Facebook Reader Group: http://bit.ly/2iNvOqS


Goodreads Author Page: http://bit.ly/2jdiCux


Twitter: http://bit.ly/2iLtfaN


Instagram: http://bit.ly/2iRJVxM


Amazon Author Page: http://amzn.to/2j0aq1a

cropped-SSFprLogo3.png
 

Sunday, January 8, 2017

Love Sick by T.L. Smith Cover Reveal

15942765_10155656368733136_2033253927_o
Title: Lovesick
Author: TL Smith
Model: Jonny James
Cover Designer: by Hang Lee
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Release Date: February 1
Goodreads
Synopsis
I couldn’t do broken.
Broken is what he was.
Broken is what I will always be.
To his eyes, that held so much despair, I couldn’t look for long.
To his fist, that clenched so tightly, like he was locking away the sorrow.
To his lips, that never uttered a word, from the years of heartbreak.
And despite it all, I couldn’t stay away from him.
It was like he was drowning in an ocean, and I wanted to grab his face, and whisper to his lips, “Don’t forget to breathe.”
This was how I fell for a man. A man who was so lovesick, I was afraid he would drown me in that same ocean he was lost in.

***Standalone***

Lovesick Teaser

PreOrder Now
Lovesick Coming Soon

B&N * KOBO * iBOOKS

About the Author
TL-200x300-1
T.L Smith Lover of chocolate, books, but mostly words.
T.L Smith loves to travel, loves to shop for books, sometimes shoes 😉
Don’t be shy about contacting T.L Smith, she doesn’t bite, hard!


Hosted By:

Logo PNG (1)