Thursday, August 13, 2020

Fragile Things by Samantha Lovelock Release Blitz




Title: Fragile Things
Series: Folkestone Sins #1
Author: Samantha Lovelock

Genre: Dark New Adult Romance
Release Date: August 13, 2020



Blurb

Poe Halliday was an accident. A chance meeting that changed my life forever.

My mother didn't have secrets; her secrets had her. After she disappeared, I had nothing.
Or so I thought.

When the invitation arrived, the opportunity to learn about my mother's past was too great to pass up. Heading west to meet an aunt I had never heard of, I knew I was taking a risk, but I craved answers. Instead, I ended up with more questions, and now the dark history of this town threatens to tear me apart.

It's all about him.

I knew this was a mistake.

Stella Bradleigh was a distraction. Something to play with when my shadows got too dark.

I spent my entire existence forced to live a life I didn't want. There was only one way out.
Or so I thought.

When she arrived, none of us had any idea what it meant. Meeting the beautiful stranger with the mysterious past, I thought she would be a good time, and then I could just throw her away like all the others. Instead, she consumed me, and now she's made me question everything I know to be real in my life.

It's all about her.

I knew I was a mistake.

Sometimes what seems most fragile can't be broken.


★ Folkestone Sins is a series of interconnected duets.  Fragile Things is the first book in Stella and Poe's duet, and the first book in the series. This is a dark, mature high school/new adult romance. It contains situations and flashbacks that may trigger some readers, language that may be offensive, and scenes of a sexual nature (all consensual).  Recommended for 18+ only







Purchase Links

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU

Free in Kindle Unlimited

ALSO AVAILABLE IN PAPERBACK






Excerpt

"Can I help you?" I ask dryly without standing.
"Don't you get snotty with me, you trashy bitch," she hisses back at me. "Who do you think you are? There are rules here, and low-class sluts like you follow them or else." 
Snotty? Me? 
Momentarily taken aback by her hostility, it takes me a few beats to register the rest of her words. Trashy bitch, I can handle. Low-class, well, she's not entirely wrong. But slut?
Nuh-uh. No way, no day.
I stand, pulling myself up to my full five feet eight inches, and get nose to nose with Fascist Barbie.
"Look, princess, I'm sitting over here, minding my own business. What the fuck have I done to offend your delicate sensibilities? Nothing. You don't fucking know me. So. You. Don't. Get. To. Call. Me. A. Slut." I fire each staccato word at her. Though I’m genuinely bewildered by this girl’s unmistakable hatred towards me, I am also seriously pissed off by her shitty attitude. "Back the fuck up, Barbie, and leave me alone. Shoo." Flicking my fingers at her dismissively, I stand my ground, waiting for her and her minions to leave. To my surprise, she leans in even closer, her cloyingly sweet perfume wrapping around me like a candy-scented lasso.
"That's not how it works here. You don't get to just show up out of the blue and jump the line." She peers spitefully down her clearly after-market nose at me. "There are rules, and just because you're a Bradleigh, don't think they don't apply to you.”






Coming Soon


Releasing December 10

AMAZON US / UK / CA / AU






Author Bio


Samantha Lovelock is a sarcastic cow with a decent sense of humour, darknesses hidden in mind-closets that occasionally Jack-in-The-Box her unsuspecting ass, and a love and loyalty for her friends and family that runs deeper than any ocean. Her guy means the world to her, and so does her cat; sometimes even in that order. Her Mum is her hero, hands down. She proudly wears the crown of a Queen of Innuendo, and of Name That Tune, and has never met a cliff hanger she didn’t like. She lives in the foothills of the Canadian Rockies with her British cowboy and their Norwegian Forest Cat, Winston Churchill.


Author Links

Friday, July 31, 2020

A Little Pill Called Love by Jas T. Ward



Author: Jas T. Ward
Title: A Little Pill Called Love
Genre: Women's Fiction
Release Date: July 11, 2020
Publisher: Hot Tree Publishing
Cover Designer: BookSmith Design
Add to TBR

 Available now! 
All other links: books2read.com/littlepill
A quirky character in her own colorful world. A man who struggles to see beyond black and white. With heartbreak and healing, A Little Pill Called Love is just the prescription for a little laughter, twists to heal, and a love that demands to be heard. 

Rylie Marshall has blue, green, yellow, and a mixture of pills that made her "normal." But her idea of normal and what her mother or society wanted her to be never seemed to match up. 

She lives day-by-day in a fantasy land within her own troubled head and books. Reading was her escape whenever even her head denied her such a haven. So, how was she to know that one day, sitting on the beach, a book would show her the one thing she didn't have, but might change her life…

Love.

Mike Newport had white, yellow, and striped pills that made him capable of being one of the most cut-throat corporate marketing advisers his clients could have. Not even a life-changing tragedy could slow him down. 

His days and most nights were spent with his head buried in flow charts, graphs, and spreadsheets. Busy was the best way--the heart could easily be ignored as it was dying inside his chest. 

The last thing he needed was a vacation, but how was he to know that a carefree girl, playing in the waves and talking to the birds might give him the one thing he had been avoiding…

Love.

From bestselling author Jas T. Ward comes a touching, quirky, fun, and gritty readA Little Pill Called Love, rebranded, edited, and published by Hot Tree Publishing.




I read about this. You know, when the good-looking guy looks at a girl and there’s a funny feeling in the tummy? It happens in all the books—didn’t matter if it’s a serious romance or one of those erotica books my mother didn’t let me read but I did anyway—and I thought it silly before too. How would butterflies get in anyone’s stomach to even know what they what they felt like? But for the first time, I understood—a fluttering like tiny wings kissing you on the inside. Note to self—it was a real thing. My tummy was getting inside kisses when I looked into Mike’s eyes as he held the shell of the gross, raw oyster in his fingers. Not taking the time to look at his fingers before now, I saw they were long and slender. His nails were perfect; I wondered if he did manicures and stuff. That made me wonder about his toes and the thought made me giggle at the image of executive Mike sitting in a salon getting a mani-pedi—bet he’d be on a phone or even a laptop when he was supposed to be relaxing. The image teased a burst of laughter preparing to escape, but then he said those words and no way could a girl make a sound after “take a chance.” Okay, so he probably meant taking a chance with the oyster, but it could mean so many other things. Blinking, I opened my mouth to ask what he meant, but I also didn’t want to appear to be stupid either. Swallowing, I leaned forward enough to slurp the oyster and I couldn’t help it. I spit it right back out. “Oh, it’s gross. So gross!” I waved a hand in front of my face to fan it and heard Mike laughing. I blushed so much I felt as if I would catch on fire as my ever present flee and run instinct reared up, until I once again became fascinated by his laughter. It was the different one again—like he didn’t laugh at me like he found me weird or strange. I felt he did because he thought me funny and smart, or so I hoped. I smiled and wiped my mouth with the cloth napkin and pointed to the oyster as it landed on my saucer. “Who ever thought to open up a shell and go, oh, let’s put this booger-looking thing in our mouth and see what it tastes like?” Mike gave up trying to eat the other oyster he picked up as his hand braced on his forehead in laughter. “I have never thought to research it. But you do have a point.” He smiled and slurped the oyster back like it was not the grossest thing in the world and let out a sigh I guessed came from pleasure. Oh wow, please let him make that sound after every single one of those nasty things. “I’m going to assume we need to order you something else.” He lifted his hand and the waitress came over as he glanced at me. “What do you want, Rylie? Just say it and it’s yours.” You… Naked…. For once, if not the first time ever, my brain actually stopped words from coming out of my mouth and boy, did I get happy about that. I sputtered as the waitress handed me a menu and tried to focus on what it listed, trying not to be distracted by more moans of oyster joy coming from across the table from me. Focus, Rylie, focus. I looked at the menu to see what food might not dribble all over my boobs if I had as much trouble eating as figuring out what to eat. “Uh, can I have the grilled shrimp with the parmesan potatoes?” The waitress nodded as I handed her the menu back. I rested my chin on my upraised hand as I watched Mike eat those oysters, almost wishing I’d ordered another platter of them, even if they were gross, just to watch and hear him eat them. He must have become aware I watched because he set the last half-shell down and smiled. “Anyone told you how incredible your eyes are, Rylie? Especially when they’re staring at a man as he makes a fool of himself with shellfish?” I blushed again and then covered my face with both of my hands. “No. But you are the first guy I’ve ever watched eating sea boogers.”


Welcome to my worlds, take a seat, get to know me and the characters and I assure you… You’ll be glad you did.”  ~Jas T Ward

Born and raised in Texas, Ward is a mixed bag of creativity spinning tales of paranormal, urban fantasy and even dark romance and horror; wrapped within a love story. She’s been dared to write a few contemporary romances but even those reads have characters that are real and twisted by their creator. 

Mother of three diverse and independent bold children, Ward prides herself for being the “Queen Niche’ Bitch” which is a handy way of saying she sucks writing to market. 
But her readers don’t seem to mind.

Sunday, July 26, 2020

Refuge by Willa J. Brand * Review *



                      Refuge: A Mountain Ranch Novel

Synopsis: Taylor is a mother on the run from an abusive husband, searching for a safe place for she and her young son. Convinced that her possessive spouse is hunting them, she is paranoid, exhausted and virtually penniless. Finding herself stranded in rural Montana, she is taken in by a couple who help her not knowing her past, and she is able to find work on their ranch. She intends on staying only long enough to save the money needed to move on to a large city where she believes they will be safer. But as time passes friendships develop, as does a love interest, and Taylor struggles to hold on to her secrets. Inevitably, her past catches up with her and her worst fears will become reality.

                                              Amazon: https://amzn.to/2P0T6dT



 Book Review:

This story is compelling, genuine, and will touch your heart. Taylor had one plan from the beginning. Keep her child safe. She loved her child fiercely. It meant she must find a new haven. Away from her haunted past that won’t let her go.

Taylor finds refuge at a farm in small-town America. This is the perfect place to start new. She meets wonderful people that help her and her son find a new life. Owen is exactly what Taylor was not looking for. He immediately gravitates to both Taylor and Jay. He is a knight and shining armor. A perfect example of a gentleman.  

The past has closed in on Taylor, but this time, she has a new family that backs her up. The story turns upside down really quick and it will throw you for a loop. I had to reread to make sure I was seeing it right. “He did whaaa?!”

I enjoyed the book immensely and look forward to reading more from Willa. I rate the book a 4.3 out of 5. 



                                                           Switchback is live 7/31!
                                         Amazon Pre-Order: https://amzn.to/30TnqNb







About The Author:
Willa J. Brand is a pen name for my alter ego, and although she is much more creative then I am in my daily life, we share many of the same interests.

I am a wife, mother of four children and three angels, and lover of the outdoors. I have been an avid reader from an early age and lover of all forms of literature since before I can remember. Busy as life is helping out on our family farm and caring for children, I craved some kind of creative outlet, and writing was a natural fit for me.

I love all animals and enjoy working with cattle and spending time with my horses and dogs. In more recent years I have found a love for chickens that I never knew I had, and my flock is constantly growing!

Visit my website, https://www.willajbrand.com/ 

Tuesday, July 14, 2020

Engagement and Espionage by Penny Reid is Live!

BANNER_EE_BT

Engagement and Espionage, an all-new quirky and swoon-worthy romantic comedy featuring fan favorites Jenn and Cletus Winston from New York Times bestselling author Penny Reid is available now!

Engagement_and_espionage_cover_04-1_ebook_color2-1_2560x1707

Jennifer Sylvester made her deal with the devil . . . and now they’re engaged!

But all is not well in Green Valley. A chicken choker is on the loose, 61 dead birds most "fowl" need plucking, and no time remains for Jennifer and her devilish fiancĂ©. Desperate to find a spare moment together, Jenn and Cletus’s attempts to reconnect are thwarted by one seemingly coincidental disaster after another. It’s not long before Cletus and Jenn see a pattern emerge and the truth becomes clear.

Sabotage!

Will an undercover mission unmask the culprit? Or are these love-birds totally plucked?

'Engagement and Espionage' is the first book in the Solving for Pie: Cletus and Jenn Mysteries series, is a full-length cozy mystery, and is a spin-off of Penny Reid's Winston Brothers series. This novel is best read after 'Beard Science,' Winston Brothers #3.

                               106993456_222132195497817_4217097115312560479_n

Download your copy today!

Amazon: https://amzn.to/3auZzqI Apple Books: https://apple.co/33ONMAK Amazon Worldwide: http://mybook.to/engagementespionage Nook: https://bit.ly/3dvV8hf Kobo: https://bit.ly/2wxWreY Google Play: https://bit.ly/3aqIT3h

Add ENGAGEMENT AND ESPIONAGE to Goodreads: https://bit.ly/2UoVpea

Darra's Review:

I adore Penny Reid's books. There is no other author that can write characters that you will never forget. I am a massive fan of all of Penny's books. 

If any of you have read any of Winston's books, you already love Cletus. He is the most intriguing and sneaky one out of the brothers, and I love him for that. However, don't dismiss Jenn in this book. She cannot be a sweeter and a more genuine person for Cletus. Ying to his Yang. Her family has oppressed Jenn for years. It is time for her to shine. 

This book was terrific. I already enjoyed both characters, along with the Winston family. There are twists and turns, and I read this book in a couple of days.

I love Penny's books, and I wish the series could go on for years. I appreciate that we have had the opportunity to read more about the family, past the original books. Such a fantastic series, I continue to go back and reread.

Excerpt:

“Don’t stop.” She reached for my belt again, this time completely undoing it, the button of my pants, and my zipper at world-record speed. Her phone buzzed. Then it chimed. Then it buzzed and chimed two more times. Then it rang again. Reba. Cursing, Jenn pulled the phone from her pocket, once again her face illuminated, murderous rage in her eyes. Her finger moved to the power off button. She blinked, hesitating. Her eyes widened, her body stiffened, and she gasped. “Cletus!” Something about her tone, like she was horrified, and maybe a little afraid, cut through the heavy haze of lust inertia, and my hands stilled. Shaking myself, it took me a few moments to realize she was showing me the phone screen, and another few to bring the content of the text messages into focus. Momma: Jennifer Anne Sylvester, pick up your phone. If you’re with Cletus, I need his help. Please. Momma: ALL THE CHICKENS AND ROOSTERS ARE DEAD! PICK UP YOUR DAMN PHONE! Momma: I’m calling you in a second, pick up the phone. Mr. Badcock’s chickens are dead. All of them. I got here and he’s running around, deranged, yelling about his dead chickens! I called the police and they’re on their way. Please, please, please pick up the phone! At some point, I must’ve taken the phone from Jenn and stepped away, because I glanced up upon reading the messages for the third time, finding the phone in my hand and Jenn fixing her skirt. “This is nuts.” Her big eyes searched mine imploringly. “Who could have done this?” I shook my head, having not yet managed to fully shift head gears—you know, from that head to the one on my neck—and my gaze dropped to the wet patch on the front of her dress just visible in the swath of light. My erection throbbed. So we’re . . . not having sex? “Why? Why would they do it? And WHO?” She snatched her phone back, her tone bewildered, distracted, and distraught. She was distraught because of the dead chickens, like any normal person would be. I was distraught also, but my distress had nothing to do with farm animals. “We have to go.” Jenn grabbed my hand and began walking toward the direction of the hall. Meanwhile, it took me until her hand found the door handle to realize my zipper and belt were still undone. “This is crazy.” She paused as I zipped up, her tone halting and distracted. “Poor Mr. Badcock. And those poor chickens.” A sound of distress escaped her throat. “This is terrible.” It was terrible. And I was going to hell. Because all I could think was, Talk about a cock block.

       PennyReid

Meet Penny Reid:

Penny Reid is the New York Times, Wall Street Journal and USA Today Best Selling Author of the Winston Brothers, Knitting in the City, Rugby, and Hypothesis series. She used to spend her days writing federal grant proposals as a biomedical researcher, but now she just writes books. She’s also a full time mom to three diminutive adults, wife, daughter, knitter, crocheter, sewer, general crafter, and thought ninja.

Connect with Penny:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/PennyReidWriter/ 

Amazon: http://amzn.to/2lakzsD 

Twitter: @ReidRomance 

Mailing List: http://pennyreid.ninja/newsletter/ www.pennyreid.ninja

Monday, May 25, 2020

Love In Deed by LB Dunbar is Live!

GVL06-BANNER-FB

Love in Deed, an all-new standalone contemporary romance from L.B. Dunbar, is now available in Kindle Unlimited!

                                GVL06-DUNBAR-EBOOK
Sometimes it takes an outsider to force us to see who we are. The real struggle is accepting what we learn. For Beverly Townsen, nothing could be closer to the truth. Virtually a shut-in, Beverly has pulled back from Green Valley’s community, preferring the isolation of her farmhouse and her daily routine of viewing home improvement television shows. When the opportunity arises for her own home improvement and a personal re-assessment, she’s not so excited about the reality of real life versus DIY programs.
Jedd Flemming understands physical pain and personal loss, but it’s never stopped him from bucking forward in life. A former military man and rodeo star, his life as a nomad comes to an end with false accusations and a family matter back in the Valley. It’s been a long journey to find his way home and once there, there’s nothing he wants more than to reclaim what he’s lost…and maybe the elusive female reclusive who holds a sliver of his past.
With an unprecedented proposition, Beverly finds a stranger living in her barn, raising horses on borrowed pastures, and plowing his way into her vacant heart. Old hurts linger, but sometimes love in deed is louder than words.
‘Love in Deed’ is a full-length contemporary romance, can be read as a standalone, and is book #6 in the Green Valley Library series, Green Valley World, Penny Reid Book Universe.
GVL06-KU02

Download your copy TODAY! Read for FREE in Kindle Unlimited!

Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2Tz3gWz
Amazon UK: https://amzn.to/2G1lc45
Add to Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2G7sxiu
GVL06-TEASER02

Excerpt

“Momma,” she whispers, and I turn at the soft question in her voice. Her eyes scan my face. Does she fear she’ll look like me one day? Those bright eyes will dim, and lines will form in the corners. Will they be rivers formed from tears, or will she eventually find laughter? Does she wonder if her lips will match mine, permanently curled downward? Can my girl still smile? Will her hair go gray too young as mine did? Will the stress of her life turn her into someone lonely and lost? I blink back the tears fighting for release. I won’t cry. Nothing left to cry over. It’s all gone. “Do you fancy him?” my daughter asks, and I choke on the question. “What…? I…of course not. Don’t be silly. I’m sure he’d be more interested in the likes of you.” “What’s that supposed to mean?” Hannah asks, brows rising in surprise. “I’m sure I don’t need to explain the birds and the bees to you. Men like him only want young things and only want one thing from those young things. I don’t think he should stay here,” I sneer, recognizing the pulse at my neck and the thump of my heart. My daughter is a pretty girl, and this older man could be attracted to her for all the wrong reasons. Young girls go for older men to solve their daddy issues. “He’s sleeping in the barn,” Hannah counters, her voice deepening in displeasure. Ticking off points on her fingers, she continues, “We don’t need to feed him. He’ll rebuild at his expense or hire what he can’t do himself. The back field will be plowed and prepped for spring planting.” I snort in response, but my eyes return to Jedd’s movement. Into the barn. Out in the yard. My observation traces down his perspiring spine to the waist of his pants where his shirt has untucked. My fingers curl on the armrest of the rocker as my eyes outline the fine globes accentuated by those smooth pants. My mouth goes dry. What is it about this man? Why am I suddenly lusting after him? I can’t. That’s the bottom line. I can’t anything him. Under fifteen percent and tight pants and a perfect backside is still a man with empty words. My eyes fall blindly on the reality television program. The only man a girl can count on is the fictional kind. I force my attention away from the barn, but my eyes seem to have a will of their own. “We can’t have a stranger living in our barn,” I huff. Jedd stops, turning in his tracks with a pile of lumber on his shoulder as if he heard me, which is impossible on two counts: the panes of glass and his lack of hearing. Still, he stills, and his eyes narrow on the house as if he knows I’m watching him, I’m talking about him, and I don’t agree with this arrangement. “Too late. He’s moving in.” Hannah definitively nods, dismissing my opinion as Jedd swings back around. She leans down to kiss my cheek and then exits my room, but I remain transfixed. Suddenly, reality is more fascinating than television. My eyes continue the cat and mouse game of watching Jedd disappear and then reappear. I don’t know how much time transpires, but eventually, the bed of his truck is empty. Still, I hold my breath as if the barn is a giant octopus, swallowing him whole. I fear he might disappear forever like Howard did, which is the silliest thought I’ve had in a decade. I don’t need Jedd. We don’t need Jedd. There will be no attachment to him. But then, Jedd appears at the open barn door and gives a single wave toward the house, and I smile in spite of myself.

About L.B. Dunbar

L.B. Dunbar has an overactive imagination. To her benefit, such creativity has led to over thirty romance novels, including those offering a second chance at love over 40. Her signature works include the #sexysilverfoxes collection of mature males and feisty vixens ready for romance in their prime years. She’s also written stories of small-town romance (Heart Collection), rockstar mayhem (The Legendary Rock Stars Series), and a twist on intrigue and redemption (Redemption Island Duet). She’s had several alter egos including elda lore, a writer of romantic magical realism through mythological retellings (Modern Descendants). In another life, she wanted to be an anthropologist and journalist. Instead, she was a middle school language arts teacher. The greatest story in her life is with the one and only, and their four grown children. Learn more about L.B. Dunbar by joining her reader group on Facebook (Loving L.B.) or subscribing to her newsletter (Love Notes).
2020AuthorImage

Find L.B. Dunbar online

20200225-SPR logo FINAL

Connect with Smartypants Romance

Wednesday, May 20, 2020

My Demons by Blythe Kyndahl Available!


Title: My Demons: Book 1 (Losing the Demons) 
Author:  Blythe Kyndahl 
Genre:  Drama | Suspense

#Suspense #MyDemons #BlytheKyndahl #ReleaseTour



Synopsis:
College is ending and it is time to hit the road, to start their new lives. One problem, an ex-boyfriend is making it his life's mission to make her never forget him, Car troubles has both Lexi and Dakota stranded in a small town, and love is the last thing both of them need.
I have always done what has been expected of me...all I want to do is make a name for myself after I graduate collage. My friend Dakota and I start a traveling party planning business.
College is ending and it is time to hit the road, to start their new lives. One problem, an ex-boyfriend is making it his life's mission to make her never forget him, Car troubles has both Lexi and Dakota stranded in a small town, and love is the last thing both of them need.


Purchase Links:

iBooks, Kobo, Nook, Smashwords Link: https://books2read.com/u/3JD7KQ





Giveaway: Giveaway of a signed Paperback. Enter here: https://www.facebook.com/dbkyndahl/

Author Bio: The author Blythe Kyndahl came to about when two
sisters Danielle and Nicole decided to co-write a book. One
book turned into two and then their mind just kept going and
they plotted this whole series.

Danielle is married with a husband and also kept busy by
her two rambunctious boys, ages ten and five. One day they
love each other and the next day she is breaking up fights
right and left. But she wouldn't change it for anything. She
was the first person in her intimidate family to receive her
bachelor’s degree in business. Sadly, when she graduated that
is when the market crashed, and her business degree sits on
the wall. Danielle is always on the computer working on
getting a business off the ground for the past four years.
Longer than writing this book.

Nicole has a husband and works full time. She's an
educational assistant in a school life skills room classroom.
Nicole's husband had a stroke in 2015 and he hasn't been the
same since. Some days she wants to get away from it all, she
does this by writing and working on her other part-time job.

Both Danielle and Nicole are partners in a direct sales
company called Paparazzi Accessories. They love what they
do and love talking to people at shows and when we go live.
We are goof balls but that is just who they are.

Author Links: