Monday, May 25, 2020

Love In Deed by LB Dunbar is Live!

GVL06-BANNER-FB

Love in Deed, an all-new standalone contemporary romance from L.B. Dunbar, is now available in Kindle Unlimited!

                                GVL06-DUNBAR-EBOOK
Sometimes it takes an outsider to force us to see who we are. The real struggle is accepting what we learn. For Beverly Townsen, nothing could be closer to the truth. Virtually a shut-in, Beverly has pulled back from Green Valley’s community, preferring the isolation of her farmhouse and her daily routine of viewing home improvement television shows. When the opportunity arises for her own home improvement and a personal re-assessment, she’s not so excited about the reality of real life versus DIY programs.
Jedd Flemming understands physical pain and personal loss, but it’s never stopped him from bucking forward in life. A former military man and rodeo star, his life as a nomad comes to an end with false accusations and a family matter back in the Valley. It’s been a long journey to find his way home and once there, there’s nothing he wants more than to reclaim what he’s lost…and maybe the elusive female reclusive who holds a sliver of his past.
With an unprecedented proposition, Beverly finds a stranger living in her barn, raising horses on borrowed pastures, and plowing his way into her vacant heart. Old hurts linger, but sometimes love in deed is louder than words.
‘Love in Deed’ is a full-length contemporary romance, can be read as a standalone, and is book #6 in the Green Valley Library series, Green Valley World, Penny Reid Book Universe.
GVL06-KU02

Download your copy TODAY! Read for FREE in Kindle Unlimited!

Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2Tz3gWz
Amazon UK: https://amzn.to/2G1lc45
Add to Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2G7sxiu
GVL06-TEASER02

Excerpt

“Momma,” she whispers, and I turn at the soft question in her voice. Her eyes scan my face. Does she fear she’ll look like me one day? Those bright eyes will dim, and lines will form in the corners. Will they be rivers formed from tears, or will she eventually find laughter? Does she wonder if her lips will match mine, permanently curled downward? Can my girl still smile? Will her hair go gray too young as mine did? Will the stress of her life turn her into someone lonely and lost? I blink back the tears fighting for release. I won’t cry. Nothing left to cry over. It’s all gone. “Do you fancy him?” my daughter asks, and I choke on the question. “What…? I…of course not. Don’t be silly. I’m sure he’d be more interested in the likes of you.” “What’s that supposed to mean?” Hannah asks, brows rising in surprise. “I’m sure I don’t need to explain the birds and the bees to you. Men like him only want young things and only want one thing from those young things. I don’t think he should stay here,” I sneer, recognizing the pulse at my neck and the thump of my heart. My daughter is a pretty girl, and this older man could be attracted to her for all the wrong reasons. Young girls go for older men to solve their daddy issues. “He’s sleeping in the barn,” Hannah counters, her voice deepening in displeasure. Ticking off points on her fingers, she continues, “We don’t need to feed him. He’ll rebuild at his expense or hire what he can’t do himself. The back field will be plowed and prepped for spring planting.” I snort in response, but my eyes return to Jedd’s movement. Into the barn. Out in the yard. My observation traces down his perspiring spine to the waist of his pants where his shirt has untucked. My fingers curl on the armrest of the rocker as my eyes outline the fine globes accentuated by those smooth pants. My mouth goes dry. What is it about this man? Why am I suddenly lusting after him? I can’t. That’s the bottom line. I can’t anything him. Under fifteen percent and tight pants and a perfect backside is still a man with empty words. My eyes fall blindly on the reality television program. The only man a girl can count on is the fictional kind. I force my attention away from the barn, but my eyes seem to have a will of their own. “We can’t have a stranger living in our barn,” I huff. Jedd stops, turning in his tracks with a pile of lumber on his shoulder as if he heard me, which is impossible on two counts: the panes of glass and his lack of hearing. Still, he stills, and his eyes narrow on the house as if he knows I’m watching him, I’m talking about him, and I don’t agree with this arrangement. “Too late. He’s moving in.” Hannah definitively nods, dismissing my opinion as Jedd swings back around. She leans down to kiss my cheek and then exits my room, but I remain transfixed. Suddenly, reality is more fascinating than television. My eyes continue the cat and mouse game of watching Jedd disappear and then reappear. I don’t know how much time transpires, but eventually, the bed of his truck is empty. Still, I hold my breath as if the barn is a giant octopus, swallowing him whole. I fear he might disappear forever like Howard did, which is the silliest thought I’ve had in a decade. I don’t need Jedd. We don’t need Jedd. There will be no attachment to him. But then, Jedd appears at the open barn door and gives a single wave toward the house, and I smile in spite of myself.

About L.B. Dunbar

L.B. Dunbar has an overactive imagination. To her benefit, such creativity has led to over thirty romance novels, including those offering a second chance at love over 40. Her signature works include the #sexysilverfoxes collection of mature males and feisty vixens ready for romance in their prime years. She’s also written stories of small-town romance (Heart Collection), rockstar mayhem (The Legendary Rock Stars Series), and a twist on intrigue and redemption (Redemption Island Duet). She’s had several alter egos including elda lore, a writer of romantic magical realism through mythological retellings (Modern Descendants). In another life, she wanted to be an anthropologist and journalist. Instead, she was a middle school language arts teacher. The greatest story in her life is with the one and only, and their four grown children. Learn more about L.B. Dunbar by joining her reader group on Facebook (Loving L.B.) or subscribing to her newsletter (Love Notes).
2020AuthorImage

Find L.B. Dunbar online

20200225-SPR logo FINAL

Connect with Smartypants Romance

Wednesday, May 20, 2020

My Demons by Blythe Kyndahl Available!


Title: My Demons: Book 1 (Losing the Demons) 
Author:  Blythe Kyndahl 
Genre:  Drama | Suspense

#Suspense #MyDemons #BlytheKyndahl #ReleaseTour



Synopsis:
College is ending and it is time to hit the road, to start their new lives. One problem, an ex-boyfriend is making it his life's mission to make her never forget him, Car troubles has both Lexi and Dakota stranded in a small town, and love is the last thing both of them need.
I have always done what has been expected of me...all I want to do is make a name for myself after I graduate collage. My friend Dakota and I start a traveling party planning business.
College is ending and it is time to hit the road, to start their new lives. One problem, an ex-boyfriend is making it his life's mission to make her never forget him, Car troubles has both Lexi and Dakota stranded in a small town, and love is the last thing both of them need.


Purchase Links:

iBooks, Kobo, Nook, Smashwords Link: https://books2read.com/u/3JD7KQ





Giveaway: Giveaway of a signed Paperback. Enter here: https://www.facebook.com/dbkyndahl/

Author Bio: The author Blythe Kyndahl came to about when two
sisters Danielle and Nicole decided to co-write a book. One
book turned into two and then their mind just kept going and
they plotted this whole series.

Danielle is married with a husband and also kept busy by
her two rambunctious boys, ages ten and five. One day they
love each other and the next day she is breaking up fights
right and left. But she wouldn't change it for anything. She
was the first person in her intimidate family to receive her
bachelor’s degree in business. Sadly, when she graduated that
is when the market crashed, and her business degree sits on
the wall. Danielle is always on the computer working on
getting a business off the ground for the past four years.
Longer than writing this book.

Nicole has a husband and works full time. She's an
educational assistant in a school life skills room classroom.
Nicole's husband had a stroke in 2015 and he hasn't been the
same since. Some days she wants to get away from it all, she
does this by writing and working on her other part-time job.

Both Danielle and Nicole are partners in a direct sales
company called Paparazzi Accessories. They love what they
do and love talking to people at shows and when we go live.
We are goof balls but that is just who they are.

Author Links:




Tuesday, May 12, 2020

Love in Deed by LB Dunbar ~ Review~

GVL06-BANNER-FB-RB copy

Love in Deed, an all-new standalone contemporary romance from L.B. Dunbar, is LIVE!

                                GVL06-DUNBAR-EBOOK

Sometimes it takes an outsider to force us to see who we are. The real struggle is accepting what we learn. For Beverly Townsen, nothing could be closer to the truth. Virtually a shut-in, Beverly has pulled back from Green Valley’s community, preferring the isolation of her farmhouse and her daily routine of viewing home improvement television shows. When the opportunity arises for her own home improvement and a personal re-assessment, she’s not so excited about the reality of real life versus DIY programs.
Jedd Flemming understands physical pain and personal loss, but it’s never stopped him from bucking forward in life. A former military man and rodeo star, his life as a nomad comes to an end with false accusations and a family matter back in the Valley. It’s been a long journey to find his way home and once there, there’s nothing he wants more than to reclaim what he’s lost…and maybe the elusive female reclusive who holds a sliver of his past.
With an unprecedented proposition, Beverly finds a stranger living in her barn, raising horses on borrowed pastures, and plowing his way into her vacant heart. Old hurts linger, but sometimes love in deed is louder than words.
‘Love in Deed’ is a full-length contemporary romance, can be read as a standalone, and is book #6 in the Green Valley Library series, Green Valley World, Penny Reid Book Universe.


GVL06-LIVE

Download your copy TODAY!

Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2Tz3gWz
Amazon UK: https://amzn.to/2G1lc45
AppleBooks: https://apple.co/2Ty0xMX
Google Play: http://bit.ly/2RqBcSI
Add to Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2G7sxiu

Coming to Kindle Unlimited on May 18th!


Review:

It is fantastic reading a book with older characters. When a person is jaded from prior relationships, it is much more difficult to allow a person to love. When a guy like Jedd shows up at your door, it would be hard to turn him down. Bev is the perfect example of someone that has been burned. In one of the worst ways. 
We are rooting for Jedd and Bev. It's hard to put aside his original motives. However, I think I will make an exception. 
There are many stories that could have a spin off(#1 Hannah), books, that I can't wait to read. L.B. Dunbar did a great job detailing each character. 
This book is absolutely worth your time. Read me!
I rate the book a 4.4 out of 5.


About L.B. Dunbar

L.B. Dunbar has an overactive imagination. To her benefit, such creativity has led to over thirty romance novels, including those offering a second chance at love over 40. Her signature works include the #sexysilverfoxes collection of mature males and feisty vixens ready for romance in their prime years. She’s also written stories of small-town romance (Heart Collection), rockstar mayhem (The Legendary Rock Stars Series), and a twist on intrigue and redemption (Redemption Island Duet). She’s had several alter egos including elda lore, a writer of romantic magical realism through mythological retellings (Modern Descendants). In another life, she wanted to be an anthropologist and journalist. Instead, she was a middle school language arts teacher. The greatest story in her life is with the one and only, and their four grown children. Learn more about L.B. Dunbar by joining her reader group on Facebook (Loving L.B.) or subscribing to her newsletter (Love Notes).

                                    2020AuthorImage

Find L.B. Dunbar online

20200225-SPR logo FINAL

Connect with Smartypants Romance

Friday, May 8, 2020

Billionaire Takes All by Jackson Kane


Author: Jackson Kane
Title: Billionaire Takes All
Series: Caldwell Hope Billionaire Romance
Genre: Billionaire Romance
Release Date: April 18, 2020
Publisher: Hot Tree Publishing
Cover Designer: BookSmith Design

 Available now! 
The rules: The first son to provide an heir to the King fortune gets all of the five-billion-dollar inheritance. The loser gets nothing.

Richard

I did everything my father asked, including following in his footsteps to become one of the country's most ruthless businessmen. I deserve that inheritance more than my deadbeat, musician brother.

Ridiculous. All I do is win and this test will be no exception.

The record store owner, Gloria, is a sexy, alt-rock firecracker and the opposite of what I need right now, but the more she pushes me away, the more I need to have her. 
  
Lucas

My pompous prick of a brother thinks he can beat me? I'm Mr. Sex, Drugs, and Rock and Roll. I can knock up any girl I want.

Any girl but the one I really want. The reason I stayed away from my hometown was because my high school sweetheart, Molly, married someone else. And now that I'm back, she's still all I can think about.

Jackson Kane's Billionaire Takes All is a scorcher that features dual POVs of both rival brothers as they screw each other over in their pursuit of thrills, sex, love, and the competition for their five-billion-dollar inheritance. Who will win their father's test? Will it be the high-powered alpha CEO Richard, or the sexy heartthrob rock star Lucas? Only one Billionaire Takes All.

 Available now! 


“Excuse me,” the woman repeated, getting closer. She was trying to hide the bookish timidity from her voice. 
That voice was crazy familiar....
“For Christ's sake, you're excused.” I grumbled as loudly as I could, shifting my arm to further shield my face from the relentless sunlight. “Now let me sleep.” 
She scoffed at my bluntness. 
The kick in the ribs I received wasn't bookish or sweet. 
“Fuck me, that's a rude way to treat a guest.” I recoiled, rolling away onto my stomach. My long, dirty-blond hair cascaded down both sides of my face as I lifted myself from a push up position. Once I got my knees under me, I shot a quick glance at her, but my eyes hadn't adjusted fully, so I only caught a glimpse before the intensity of the sun forced me to look away.
Her long, layered, brown hair had soft curls and was pulled back into a ponytail. She had a slight, yet athletic frame, and wore a gray dress. Was that the glint of glasses I saw?
Wasn't the girl last night a redhead? I also didn't remember her being this gorgeous....
“Rude? Guest?” Her tone screamed the gall of this man!
That didn't make any sense. I distinctly remember being invited to the party last night by a few fans. They wanted me here. Why was I being yelled at?
My ears were still faintly humming from all the music I had played. 
I carelessly rubbed my sore chest and abs to get off the matted grass and dirt. It was a useless effort; all my tattoos made the mess impossible to see, let alone brush off. I desperately needed a shower. I cocked my head to the side, and through my hanging hair caught the pretty brunette gawking. 
She could try to hide it, but I could tell that she liked what she saw. Damn right, I thought. I don’t work out five times a week to not look good. 
“Yeah, guest. You invited me.” My long hair blanketed my head like an overturned mop. With the speed and precision of someone who was just hit by a car, I grabbed the wadded fabric in my back pocket and pulled out a purple G-string. “These are yours, aren’t they?”
“Eww, no! And this is school property. No one invited you to sleep here!”
“What?” I flipped my hair back and took in the surroundings. If they weren't hers, then where the hell was I? 
The long, rectangular building loomed nearby, obviously some kind of school. I spotted the playground peeking out from the back of the nicely remodeled building. 
Oh wonderful. I'm shirtless and reeking of booze in front of an elementary school. Definitely not one of the high points of my life.... Yeah, this won't make it into my autobiography. I was glad it was Saturday. 
At least I hoped it was Saturday.... 
Either way, there were no children around, thankfully. Although, I'd probably make a good example of what not to do when you grow up. 
Then it got worse. I spotted the name on the building—Matt Baker Elementary school. Matt Baker. That's where I was?
“Oh shit…,” I muttered. That's why she looked and sounded so familiar. 



 

Jackson Kane is a professional stuntman, athlete, romance author, and above all else, a hopeless romantic. From American Ninja Warrior, to some of your favorite films, Jackson brings a unique writing style forged from countless harrowing adventures.

He’s a lover of travel, his fans, his romance author peers, dulce de leche, and all things beautifully weird and interesting. He invites you to relax, have a pisco sour and let him thrill and excite you in a way no other author can. Jackson will show you what the world looks like through the eyes of a genuine Bad Boy.

Come with him, and…

DARE TO READ DANGEROUSLY



 Shop now!

Tuesday, March 31, 2020

Been There Done That by Hope Ellis Review

LBS01-BANNER-RB

Been There Done That, an all-new second-chance romantic standalone by debut author Hope Ellis, is LIVE!

                             LBS01-ELLIS
Theirs was a forever kind of love, until it was stolen.
ZORA LEFFERSBEE’S once perfect life is no longer perfect. Her tenure at the University is in question, funding for her employees uncertain, and her faux-fiancĂ©, Jackson James’s unpredictability is wearing on her last nerve. Just when Zora is convinced things can’t get more complicated, life proves her wrong.
What the heck is he doing here?
NICK ROSSI’s complicated life is still extremely complicated. He’s used to fighting for everything he has, but he’s also used to winning. Now a man of power and influence, his return to Green Valley after so many years hasn’t gone according to plan, especially with the woman he’s always wanted.
She can’t know why I left, or why I’m back.
A powerful woman intent on righting the wrongs of the world, Zora doesn’t have time or energy to deal with the man who broke her young heart.
A powerful man intent on righting the wrongs of the past, Nick can’t help wanting to protect Zora, even if his devotion is unrequited.
‘Been There Done That’ is a full-length contemporary romance, can be read as a standalone, and is book #1 in the Leffersbee series, Green Valley World, Penny Reid Book Universe.


Darra's Review:

Who doesn't like a second chance? No one. If it was Nick, by all means, all about seeing this guy 12 years later. Loved the characters and both Zora and Nick were quick as a whip. Smart is always sexy. 
It was shocking how Nick left. It was shocking Zora didn't give in the moment he walked back into her life. Both are devoted to each other. It had to take time for Zora to see some things will always remain.
BTW-Jackson! I have hated him for so long. Somehow he is growing on me like that dog that comes backs for scraps. 

I rate the book a 4.3 out of 5.


LBS01-LIVE

Download your copy TODAY!

Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2sEcF4a
Amazon UK: https://amzn.to/2uafgmG
AppleBooks: https://apple.co/2R1X5Zn
Google Play: http://bit.ly/2G351Dj
Add to Goodreads: http://bit.ly/37cbd7X


About Hope Ellis

Hope Ellis is a health outcomes researcher by day and writes romances featuring sexy nerds by night. She hopes to one day conquer her habit of compulsively binge-watching The Office.
                                      JH

Find Hope Ellis online

Facebook: http://bit.ly/2PszyQ6
Twitter: http://bit.ly/3c6Awey
Instagram: http://bit.ly/2w6WttF
Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2I2xDxK
                           20200225-SPR logo FINAL

Connect with Smartypants Romance

Tuesday, March 17, 2020

Beef Cake by Jiffy Kate Review

DB04-BANNER-FB-RB

I was all in with this slow burn romance that had me laughing and swooning from cover to cover” --Author Andrea Johnston

Beef Cake, an all-new small town contemporary romance from Jiffy Kate, is LIVE!

                            DB04-BC-EBOOK
If opposites do actually attract, then Gunnar Erickson and Frankie Reeves take the cake.
Frankie Reeves is complicated, even though she won’t admit it. She fills her days working as an ER nurse, taking care of her mom, and searching for the father she never knew. Anything else has no place in her perfectly compartmentalized, purposefully simple life. Attachments? No thank you. She has no time for that.
Gunnar Erickson recently moved to Green Valley to train at Viking MMA with his brother Cage. Being the youngest of the Erickson clan, he’s always felt like he has something to prove, and now that he’s finished with college, it’s his time to shine. But before he can step into the ring, a freak accident sends him to the ER and into the care of one Frankie Reeves.
While he’s immediately smitten, she pretends to be unfazed by this six-foot-three, two hundred and thirty-pound beef cake. Gunnar sets out to prove to Frankie that, not only does she like him more than she wants to admit, but he’s not the uneducated, brute she assumes he is. To Frankie, he’s the worst kind of complication, but that doesn’t make it easy to stay away.
‘Beef Cake’ is a full-length contemporary romance, can be read as a standalone, and is book #4 in the Donner Bakery series, Green Valley World, Penny Reid Book Universe.

Review:
The Smarty Pants Romance posse does an amazing job bringing the town to life. However the town became so much more with Gunnar. I loved Cage, but something about Gunnar outbeats Viking #1. Frankie is not the normal damsel in distress. She handles her own. If a guy like Gunnar turned up at my job, I wouldn't even know what to do. Frankie is calm and cool, but there is so much more about her that she didn't even know.
The plots folds out perfectly and there are times that you can't see they would work. With all the craziness of the tricycle bar(you will understand if you read Green Valley), it was looking bleak for a minute. 
I can't tell you more. You need to read the book!

I rate the book a 4.3. It was a fun read.

DB04-LIVE

Download your copy TODAY!

Amazon US: https://amzn.to/38ipiAU
Amazon UK: https://amzn.to/364MzVJ
Amazon CA: https://amzn.to/30tZjUD
Amazon AU: https://amzn.to/2FX2D15
AppleBooks: https://apple.co/2v1XUZN
Nook: http://bit.ly/362QLFs
Kobo: http://bit.ly/2R6dITC
Google Play: http://bit.ly/2NRZDYj
Amazon Print: https://amzn.to/2SLqHev
Add to Goodreads: http://bit.ly/2NClJxQ

About Jiffy Kate

Jiffy Kate is the joint pen name for Jiff Simpson and Jenny Kate Altman. They’re co-writing besties who share a brain. They also share a love of cute boys, stiff drinks, and fun times. Together, they’ve written over twenty stories. Their first published book, Finding Focus, was released in November 2015. Since then, they’ve continued to write what they know–southern settings full of swoony heroes and strong heroines. JKJKJKJKJ

Find Jiffy Kate online

SPR logo FINALresize

Connect with Smartypants Romance

Monday, January 6, 2020

Faking It by Emily James and Review



                                       Faking It as the Maid by Emily James!




Synopsis:

He needs a maid.
I need a job.
It’s just temporary…
My life is an endurance test, one that I am in danger of failing.
My apartment is a hellhole and my rent is late. I’m desperate, so I concoct a scheme and temporarily take my friend’s job as a maid.
But I’m not prepared for him.
Gorgeous. Sexy as hell. Millionaire property tycoon, and of course, arrogant jerk.
I met him at a bar and he tried to hit on me. When I ignored him, he thought it was because I couldn’t speak English. Figures he’d be my new boss. Now I have to keep up the charade or risk him finding out I don’t actually work for Heavenly Help, the Romanian cleaning agency he hires.
Can I keep up the charade of being his maid or will cleaning his mansion make me dirtier than ever?

FAKING IT AS THE MAID is a standalone romance, suitable for readers aged 18 or over, due to mature content and sexual themes.


Sunny’s Review:

I am really happy that I read this book even though I was not super excited to do it. I thought it was going to be boring and not hold my interest, but I read it in less than a day. I am not really sure why I thought that but I did. I really liked Avery. She had taken care of herself for years and made the best of what she could. She did not complain and was not whiny. Ben was pretty great too. You can see that he is not a bad guy but he is very focused to the point of not noticing anything but work.  I really liked Ben and Avery’s initial meeting. Basically, this book makes you realize that you should never just assume things. Considering that they never really spoke to each other the majority of the book, it was very funny and I loved their relationship. Avery was really funny and did some of the best and worst things to Ben. I think that they are one of my favorite recent couples. I don’t want to give away too much but the ending made me happy. Avery really surprised at the end but I feel like if I told you why it would be a spoiler. I guess you will just need to read it to find out.

If you are interested in a fun quick read, this is your book. I am giving this book 4.3 stars out of 5.


Buy the Book!