Friday, March 29, 2013

So funny...I couldn't pass this up

Who didn't like Smurfette. Really All the smurfs wanter her and you wanted to be her when you were young. Okay, in the 80's when it ran. All you 90's baby don't get it.

Cover Reveal: Made to Forget by Samantha LaFantansie & giveaway!


MADE TO FORGET by Samantha LaFantasie

There’s something that lies within my memory. Hidden in the dark. Something that can kill me and those that I love. But I was in an accident, covered in mystery and deception. And my memory…was lost. There are those who want me to remember. I don’t trust them. And those I do trust…are fighting for me to forget.

Elsabetha Ellery wants to get her memory back, even if it kills her.

After waking up in a hospital with no memory, Elsabetha quickly learns those who claim to be her friend are anything but. And those who are her true friends keep themselves unseen.

Stuck with piecing together her broken memories alone, Elsa struggles with having faith in those she trusts and heeding the warnings of the dangers in recovering her memory. Ignoring them, she faces heavy consequences. Ones she doesn’t see until it’s too late, and a life is lost.

If you'd like to be updated on the release of MADE TO FORGET -- sign up HERE.



A Kansas native, Samantha spends her free time with her husband and three kids. Writing has always been a passion of hers but she only took up writing seriously a few years ago. Among her writing credentials, she’s a board member of the Kansas Writer’s Association and has founded her own critique group lovingly named The Fighting Hamsters.

You can find her presence on...
Facebook † Twitter † WebsiteGoodReads






a Rafflecopter giveaway

Cover Reveal! Of SILVER And BEASTS by Trisha Wolfe


Of Silver and Beasts (A Goddess Wars Novel)
Release Date: June 1, 2013
Genre: New Adult Dark Fantasy
Cover Reveal Organized by: YA Bound
Cover Designed by: Steven Novak

Summary from Goodreads:

In the sand-covered queendom of Cavan, the goddess once saved a young Kaliope’s life, preventing the mercury her father attempted to hide in her blood from reaching her heart. Now, a cybernetic clamp filters it, but the silver streaks swirling faintly beneath her skin are a constant reminder that she’s different.When nineteen- year-old Kaliope is chosen as head of the Nactue Guard, she becomes the sworn protector to her empress.

 In the midst of an invasion on a neighboring land, Kaliope is placed in charge of guarding Prince Caben, the last heir to his kingdom. But when they’re attacked by the feared Otherworlders, Caben and Kaliope are abducted and taken below to a realm where they must fight for their life in a caged arena. 

Kaliope struggles to protect her princely charge, keeping him and herself alive while battling inhumanly opponents, and trying to save the stolen, sacred relic that will restore her empress’s life force and all of Cavan. And if she can somehow awaken the goddess within her, she may save what’s most important.







***Excerpt***

I open my mouth to say something comforting, but I’m unsure of what. In this moment, I’m reminded that I know little about him. Other than the sarcasm and desire to understand nothing of my queendom, he hasn’t allowed me past the surface. But then, I have my own walls, hiding things I’d never want him or any other to know. And I understand that need to hide them. You can’t trust anyone. “Caben…” I start, but still can’t find the right words. He lowers his hand from his face, never taking his eyes off the glinting water top. “You’re right,” he finally says. “Let’s find the access to Lilly’s section.” A hollow pang hits my chest, and I’m not sure why. Something in his voice sounds lost, broken. I imagine the gears around my heart spinning faster, trying to keep up with my racing heart. When he sidesteps me, I reach out and grab his arm. “Caben, I didn’t mean—” “It’s fine, Kal,” he snaps. “We have work to do.” “No, I’ve said something to offend you.” I drop my hand, but keep close to him, not allowing him to leave my side. Goddess, trying to understand the male brain is harder than anything in protector training. I’ve heard people say that you have to tip-toe around a woman’s emotions, but a man’s ego is every bit as fragile, if not more so. He releases a heavy breath through his nose and walks back to the pool. He sits down along the edge and rolls up his pants, then slips off his boots. “I honestly don’t think Bax or his goons will be returning tonight.” He sinks his bare feet into the water and sighs. Glancing at the back of the cave, I plant my hands on my hips. We don’t have time for indulgencies, but the prince is still my charge. If it were my empress, I’d give her anything she’d ask for. Allow her as much time as she needed to collect herself. I have to watch over his mental state as well as protect him, so I try to push the pending need to find Lilly aside and sit down next to him. “Here,” he says, turning his hand out near my crossed feet. “You have to feel this.” A smile tugs at the corner of my mouth. “I can remove my own—” “Have you never been pampered a day in your life?” he asks, lifting an eyebrow. “I know that the Nactue are fierce and will put a hurt on any man for touching them. But try to relax.” “Is that the rumor in Perinya?” “What?” I bite my lip, suddenly regretting my blurt. “Nothing. Never mind.” From the corner of my eye, I see his lips pucker into a pinched smile, as if he’s trying not to. “Ah,” he says, like he’s made some great universal connection. “Well, there are many whisperings about the Nactue. Some I dare not repeat for fear I’d leave here missing a limb, but that’s one, yes.” He takes my booted foot and begins to unlace it. “I’ve heard that the empress’s protectors are untouchable—forbidden to give themselves to men. And that they’ll snap a man’s neck just for making an advance.” My mouth drops open. Appalled, I counter, “That’s not true.” “All right,” he says, as if he hasn’t just insulted my very existence. “It’s only rumors. Things men jaw about in pubs. The unattainable woman is a fantasy, Kal. Don’t be offended.” “Unattainable?” I grit my teeth, trying to maintain my composure. “Tell me, prince. Do men in your country just go around bedding every woman they can in order to keep them compliant?” I shake my head. “If their fantasy is a woman that would have nothing to do with them, it seems to me it’s their way of feeding their egos after being rejected.” His eyes widen. “No! How does your brain come up with these—” He bites off his words, his lips thin as he presses them together. “Look, it was a joke.” I nod, many times. “Another joke. I’m glad that our hard work and sacrifice is amusing to the men of Perinya.” Caben lets out another sigh and slowly pulls off my boot. His warm fingers skim my calf as he inches up my pant leg. “Just stick your foot in,” he says, then adds lower, “while I stick mine in my mouth.” Unexpectedly, I laugh. “At least it’s now clean,” I say. “Would you like some help getting it to your face?”

***GIVEAWAY***
a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thursday, March 28, 2013

Into The Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes


This is a very stressful book. I love the way it is written. You get to see Catherine before and after Lee. Basically, Catherine meets Lee and falls in love. He is the perfect guy...everyone agrees. All her friends love him and think that she is crazy as she begins to tell them about how she wants to slow down and maybe break up with him. Lee shows Catherine his darker side and she tries to run...

Four years later, Lee is about to get out of jail and Cathy is trying to get her life in order. She is very obsessive about her safety...to the point of disrupting her life. She lives in London and has tried to forget about him. With no friends left she learns to be alone even though her new neighbor Stuart wants to help her. She gets the call that Lee is getting out of jail and she knows that he is going to come after her...

It was really interesting to read the OCD side of Cathy. I know that there are people that deal with this problem and I can't imagine what it is like for them. This book kept me on the edge of my seat the whole time. Very suspenseful and very stressful. I would give this book a 4.3 out of 5. Go read it but don't be surprised when you check your doors 5 or 6 times a night...


Sunny


Cover Reveal for HIDDEN GATES by D.T. Dyllin




Paperback
Expected publication: May 24th 2013 by Dragonfairy Press 
 ***Genre - New Adult Paranormal Romance
P.J. Stone is a Seer who saw too little, too late.
In the past, her biggest worries were boys and school—but war has a way of changing things. Now, the alien Riders are trying to overrun the world. As the last of their kind, P.J. and her friends must find a way to save humanity before there’s nothing left to save.
After choosing a mate, P.J. hoped she'd have time to enjoy her love life. But with everything changing so quickly and major secrets revealed, who knows what the future will bring?




First Book in this series



Click on the photo above to learn more.



Stephen Amell...Please be Christian Grey



As you may or may not know, word is out that Stephen Amell has been in meetings about the film attached to the 50 Shades of Grey movie. He did say the film is way far away from being filmed. He said this in a video on his FB. Link below. Yes, I follow him on Twitter and on FB. I actually watch his show, Arrow. Pretty good and shirtless each episode. And this is before the knowledge about him possibly being Christian. Absolutely hot. And seems really nice.
It was questionable that I would watch the movie. Kind of over 50 shades now. Over rated honestly. There are many other books similar to it that I think it is better written. Whatever. I am professing my love for Stephen Amell.
I actually might go to the movies for this.

http://www.facebook.com/stephenamell

Wednesday, March 27, 2013

Frigid Cover Release


For twenty-one-year-old Sydney, being in love with Kyler isn't anything new. They'd been best friends ever since he pushed her down on the playground and she made him eat a mud pie. Somewhere over the years, she fell for him and fell hard. The big problem with that? Kyler puts the 'man' in man-whore. He's never stayed with a girl longer than a few nights, and with it being their last year in college, Syd doesn't want to risk their friendship by declaring her love.
Kyler has always put Syd on a pedestal that was too high for him to reach. To him, she's perfect and she's everything. But the feelings he has for her, he's always hidden away or focused on any other female. After all, Kyler will always be the poor boy from the wrong side of tracks, and Syd will always be the one girl he can never have.

But when they're stranded together at a posh ski resort due to a massive Nor'easter, there's nothing stopping their red-hot feelings for each other from coming to the surface. Can their friendship survive the attraction? Better yet, can they survive at all? Because as the snow falls, someone is stalking them, and this ski trip may be a life-changer in more ways than one


Frigid will be available in digital formats on July 30th 2013
Print release of Frigid will be November 5th 2013





J. Lynn, also known as Jennifer L. Armentrout, is a # 1 New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author. She lives in Martinsburg, West Virginia. All the rumors you’ve heard about her state aren’t true. When she’s not hard at work writing. she spends her time reading, working out, watching really bad zombie movies, pretending to write, and hanging out with her husband and her Jack Russel Loki.
Her dreams of becoming an author started in algebra class, where she spent most of her time writing short stories….which explains her dismal grades in math. Jennifer writes young adult paranormal, science fiction, fantasy, and contemporary romance. She is published with Spencer Hill Press, Entangled Teen and Brazen, Disney/Hyperion and Harlequin Teen.
She also writes adult and New Adult romance under the name J. Lynn. She is published by Entangled Brazen and HarperCollins.
Twitter  https://twitter.com/JLArmentrout

Facebook http://www.facebook.com/JenniferLArmentrout
Website http://www.jenniferarmentrout.com/
 

Tuesday, March 26, 2013

I have now lost my ever loving mind!

I haven't finished this yet. Have about 180 pgs left. I usually don't write until the reading is finished. However this book has drove me nuts. Sunny is now reading it and I won't lie, I had words about it yesterday. Seriously, WTF!? Read it and enjoy the pure misery with me. Don't get me wrong, the book is good and I plan to read the second installment. But it drives me crazy to the point I have to read the next page. I have never read a book like this.

That is a plus. Always looking for something new. Try this out. You will see our post within this week. Enjoy and Happy Tuesday!

Darra

Monday, March 25, 2013

Who Knew...

Last week was a kind of messed up week for me and I didn't really see Darra much...when you consider that we sit right next to each other that is saying something...I was out for a couple of days and then she had to travel for work for a couple of days.  I sent her the next book that I thought I would read this weekend. It is a little bit different from what we have been reading and I was really looking forward to it.

This morning she walked into the office and tells me that the book is rough...stressful...so we are actually reading the same book at the same time!! I am not sure how I feel about Darra's description of the book and the fact that she absolutely loathes the guy but thinks that I will like him. Not really sure what that says about her perception of me...

So the book is Consequences by Aleatha Romig. It is the first book in a trilogy. We will be reviewing soon...


Sunny

Saturday, March 23, 2013

Be With Me by C.D. Taylor

Hot guy, eh? It is hard to turn down a book that has a nice 6 pack like that. Tyler, a marine has been shot in his leg and now will be sent back home since he is now discharged. He is not sure what he will do now. He inlisted 8 years ago. And now going back to the home where everyone has moved on with their lives without him.
Maggie has great life in Chicago with a great job and a wonderful fiance, Richard. However she gets a call that her mother died and she has to stay in the hell hole of a house she grew up in for a week. If she does this, she will get her inheretince.
First thing going to Texas she gets into an accident. She hits her head against the wheel of car and is knocked out. Tyler stops and finds this women out cold in her car. Feeling obligation to not leave her in the middle of nowhere, he takes Maggie back to his brothers house. Jake, his brother, has a wife, Emily that maybe be able to help Maggie wake up.
Maggie wakes up in a house and has no idea how she got there. Then she meets the guy that pulled here out her call. WOW. He is hot. Has the short haircut(like he is a Marine) and beautiful blue eyes. And nice muscles. She does not know him and needs to go back home so she can pack up what her Mom requested for her to take. She is not very nice to him at all. She demands that Tyler takes her home immediately and acts as though she is a spoiled brat from Chicago.
He does despite how rude she is. They are absolute oppisites when it comes to personality. She hates the life she had at home when she was a kid and that is the reason she left. She despises her father for what he did to her and hated her mother for allowing it. She must get out of the house for that night.
Maggie  goes to a local bar and guess who sits right next to her. She has drank a bit much and somehow ends up with Tyler that night.
Things end up alittle screwed up after that plus her fiance, Richard went on vacation without her and she calls him and hears a women in the back ground. Something does not feel right. And the sad part is that she is not hurt about it.
Tyler and Maggie can't help but run into each other and they have such a physical attraction with each other and now seem to have feelings as well.
Many things happen and that I will not tell you so it gives more of a reason to read this. However I will tell you that she does go to her mothers gravesite. She looks at her tomb with all her information of her date of death. But looking at her father's tomb, there is no information on him. She thought he died before per what her mother told her. That does not sit well with her. Is he alive?

Both Tyler and Maggie have major baggage, but still they can't help but wanting to be with each other.

What will happen next. I am not telling you! But giving you a hint. Something huge happens, Tyler again is there for her, and she does what she does best, she runs.

But I do want to point out that I am a sucker for happy endings. Hint..hint.

There is a Come Back To Me series that Taylor has written involving some of the other characters in the story. I have yet to read, but have good ratings. And they are free at B&N!

I would give this book a 4.0. The only issue I had with it was that it seemed a bit rushed. I needed Tyler and Maggie's relationship to be more in depth, more of them!

This book is on Smashwords and B&N. Not sure about Amazon.

DARRA

Lost To You by A.L.Jackson




Hello To All. I hope this does not show up all weird on the blog. My computer is retarded. Anyways, this is the the begining of the story about Elizabeth and Christian. I was suppose to read the other book, Take This Regret first but I needed to know the beginning of the story first. But I will read This Regret next, I promise.
These two people meet in college at NYU and come from completely different upbringings. Elizabeth had to work to get to this place. With living with her Mother and sister, there was just no money to help her get to NYC. Christian had everything handed to him but with parents that were never pround of what he achieved so far.
They became partners in their American Goverment class. Both are physically attracted to each other but she knows he is a playboy and seems very shelfish and cocky. He is trying to get close to her so he can get "with" her but he begins to become friends with and likes her and how open she is to him.
After many nights of studying with Elizabeth, he came to the conclusion that she is his best friend. Christian is afraid that if he gets with her now, he will lose her as a friend and that would scar him. She finds about how he plans to take over Christians father's lawfirm. But he despises his father and now since Elizabeth see's how his father effects Christian, she is not a fan as well. 
Holiday's are coming and he asked Elizabeth to be with him at a dinner with his parents to help him with dealing with him. Of course she will be there for her best friend. 
One night ruins there relationship of being friends. His past catches up to him and she sees a glimpse of it. Plus the relationship between the two are blurring between the lines of just friends and what both feel in their heart. He tries to ammend the problem, but only makes it worse. Elizabeth has to end their relationship, friend and whatever else the became.
In this book you get really attached to both of them and feel for them when things become the worst. 

He will do whatever he can to get her back into his life. She is his best friend back. This story is a love story with a girl that does not drive me crazy! This is a huge accomplishment. All the girls drive me nuts how they are so oblivious to what  is happening around them. Elizabeth is not.

I love Christian, with his black hair and a blue eyed guy. Love those guys!
I love Elizabeth. She is smart and down to earth.
They must be together. That is all you feel in this book.

It is a should read book. I give this book a 4.2.

Check it out. On Amazon and B&N.
Author is really nice too!

Darra  

Friday, March 22, 2013

A Terrible Love


At first this book looks like your normal love triangle. You have the quiet, shy girl that has kept to herself all of a sudden noticed by the golden boy on campus and then the bad boy. They both pursue her and want to be with her. You soon find out that she is on the run. She is the Senator's daughter that went missing several years ago. She quit dancing and has been living in hiding across the country trying to fit in at college.

Jess agrees to go out with Mitch and they seem to get along well. He is the golden boy and everyone loves him. Unfortunately, Jess keeps getting picked on by another guy and in steps Devin Castile. The bad boy with a temper sparks an instant attraction in Jess. They decide to be "friends with benefits" while she is dating Mitch.  As you can imagine it doesn't go very well. Everyone wants more...

So as Jess is working out her feelings there is a serial killer on the loose on campus. Everyone is on edge and it seems like the killer is coming closer and closer....

I really liked this book. It was a little bit different and I enjoyed the mystery. I would give this book a 4.2 out of 5.  So get it, read it and enjoy it!


Sunny

Thursday, March 21, 2013

If You Stay by Courtney Cole


This book starts out with bad boy Pax overdosing in his car when Mila walks by. She has never seen anything like that and really doesn't know what to do other than call 911. When Pax wakes up in the hospital and realizes that Mila saved his life. She stops by and visits him. Neither one can figure out why there is a pull between the two.  They can't seem to stay away from each other. Mila tries to help Pax become the person he wants to be for her. Basically, he is trying to give up the drugs, alcohol and sex for her. Pax's mother died when he was 7 and he really doesn't remember anything from before her death. As they begin to grow closer  he begins to dream about his mom and he can't figure out why. 

I liked this book b/c it is a little bit different. I have never had much to do with the drug world so it was interesting watching some of the characters reactions to the situations. You really want Pax to turn and be a great guy but at the same time you know he is going to fall off and its going to be horrible. 

I would give this book a 4 out of 5.  There is another book coming out about Mila's sister. I am really looking forward to reading it. 


Sunny

Dark Light and The Dark Prince by S.L. Jennings

I know I have been gone for a little bit...Darra was threatening to change the name to 1 Brain but I am back...and not even joking...have like 11 books to review...so I am doing Dark Light and The Dark Prince together.


This book takes the fight b/t Dark and Light (Good and Evil) to a different level. You have Gabriella on her 20th birthday thinking about how she doesn't know what she wants to do with her life, she has never really fit in anywhere and trying to tell her best friend that she has been in love with him forever. Her adopted parents give her a book from her birth mother that explains her life. Her mother was a Light Enchantress and her father was a Dark Shadow. They were supposed to kill each other but ended up falling in love and got pregnant. Their people obviously found out and put them to death. Now each side is waiting to find out how Gabriella turns out and what powers she will have. Will she be more Light or more Dark? Who will she side with?  The two sides were not supposed to contact her until her 21st birthday when she was to ascend and receive her powers.  She meets Dorian and is immediately overwhelmingly attracted to him. He has dark hair and super light blue eyes.  He can't seem to take his eyes off of her either. They begin to date and fall in love as she tries to figure out who he is. He drops some hints about believing in magic and stuff like that but Gabby doesn't really know what his deal is. 

I like Gabby a little bit. She does act stupid and I am sorry but if I got a book from my birth mom I am pretty sure I would read it ALL IN ONE SITTING! Not break it up into like a month's worth of reading. So that was annoying and sometimes I would be like YOU JUST READ WHAT DORIAN IS WHY DON'T YOU GET IT??!!???  But who knows...maybe (not likely but just maybe) I was that dumb when I was 20.  OK so the sex was so HOT!!!! I mean I was reading during lunch at my desk and was getting a little squirmy...Christian Grey is total amatuer compared to Dorian!  ***sigh***  And I am not going to lie...I would take Jared in a heartbeat too ;)

I would give this book a 4.5 out of 5. It has mystery and murder along with some seriously hot guys.  I am not going to give anymore away in this portion so if you have not read this book stop now!!! I am going to have spoilers in the next section!



SPOILERS!!! DON'T READ IF YOU HAVE NOT READ DARK LIGHT YET!!!!!!

So at the end of Dark Light you know Gabby finds the picture of her adopted parents, her biological parents and her dad's best friend...Dorian!  If you were like me you were going WTF!!! (I thought he was but Darra lied to me and told me No he wasn't--somebody's pants are on fire!) I thought that I had bought The Dark Prince the day before at work and was like looking for it on my Nook and couldn't find it...I was like WHAT!! It took me a good 3 1/2 mins to get the book and download and it was a stressful 3 minutes. So the book opens up with Gabby finding out that Dorian is supposed to kill her. I don't know...I may be like you know what go ahead but can we just YOU KNOW 1 more time...maybe there is something wrong with me but what a way to go :)

So this book goes through the 2nd half of her 20th year and she continues to find herself and figure out if she is more Light or Dark and what she should do. This book was a lot more emotional for me than the first book. I mean I was up down and sideways on this and Darra did receive several hateful texts from me for making me read this...I also recommended this book to Jamie so she can be obsessed with Dorian now. 

So this book is another 4.5 for me. I enjoyed it and I was like OK I know there is going to be another book after this but I felt like she was wrapping the story up pretty well and then CLIFF HANGER!!! UGH...love it and hate it!!!


I don't know what the last book is called but I will be anxiously awaiting the release!!!

Sunny




Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Walking Disaster Tour is coming to Houston


Hey Everyone! The Walking Disaster Tour is coming to town! The tour starts in Houston. Meet us there! You know Sunny & I can't help going to them! Check out her website for the rest of the info.

Walking Disaster Book Tour schedule is as follows:
  • Houston 4/3
  • Dallas 4/4
  • Tulsa 4/6
  • Chicago 4/10
  • Dayton 4/11
http://www.jamiemcguire.com/

We have a Facebook Page

Check us out! I am making Sunny update this since I obviously have taken over the Blog!

The Two Brains of Book Reviewers FB. Like Us Biotches!

Darra ;-)

Monday, March 18, 2013

The Music Playlists from the Authors

In many books or blogs, the author make a playlist that they think best suits the book. The last book that was read(The Dark Prince) had a list. I am going to name a few. Usually have a few songs that are new, some bands you may not know and some rock(Love It). That would totally be me if I had more of a attention span to write. Check it out:


The Dark Prince Playlist by S.L. Jennings
Love The Way You Lie - Rihanna
Night Of The Hunter - 30 Seconds To Mars
Decode - Paramore
Daykeeper - The Foreign Exchange
Use Me - Miguel
Sex On Fire - Kings of Leon
Kings & Queens - 30 Seconds To Mars
What If - Coldplay
S&M - Rihanna
We Are Young - Fun
We Are The People - Empire of the Sun
Mars vs. Venus - Usher
Stay - Rihanna ft. Mikky Ekko
Jars of Heart - Christina Perry
There are 20+ more songs but I figure this was enough.

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire(2012) ALSO ALL MY H-TOWN FRIENDS. SHE IS COMING HERE FOR HER TOUR 4/3? MEET US THERE!
Radioacctive - Imagine Dragons
Stubborn Love - The Lumineers
Red - Taylor Swift
Thing For You - Hinder
I Can't Get No Satisfaction - Rolling Stones
Dice - Finlay Quaye
Thistle and Weeds - Mumford and Sons
Shelter From The Storms - Bob Dylan
Lovesong - The Cure
Home - Edward Sharpe & the Magnetic Zeroes


Ruining You by Nicole Reed
Slipped Away - Avril Lavigne
Wish You Were Hear - Incubus (On our Playlist Too!)
Missing You - Tyler Hilton
My Love - Sia
Breath Me - Sia
Eyes On Fire - Blue Foundation
I'll Be Waiting - Lenny Kravitz
Swimming Pools - Kinderick Lamar
Girl On Fire - Alicia Keyes
Honey Bee - Blake Shelton
Stars - Grace Potter
Over You - Miranda Lambert
Warning Sign - Coldplay (On our playlist too, I heart)
Polergeist - Deftones(My Favorite Band!)
It's Been A While - Staind(Love that song! Going on Playlist)
Trouble – Coldplay
 ++++++++ several more songs


Taking Chances by Molly McAdams
Break Your Little Heart - All Time Low
Addicted - Saving Abel
Thing For You - Hinder
The Feel Good Drug - Anaberlin
CrushCrushCrush - Paramore
I hate Everything About You - Three Days Grace
I Can't Stay - The Veronicas

Much Love to the Music!
Darra

The Dark Prince by S. L. Jennings



Hello All. As explained last night both Sunny and I finished The Dark Prince, the follow up to Dark Light. This starts with Gabriela confronting Dorian about what his plans were to harm her and their relationship.
This book is a very emotional roller coaster and worth the read. What does two people do in a relationship doomed from the very beginning? She has now been confronted by Dorian's father. He has so much control over women and as disguisting as it sounds, she is very attracted to him. Keep this in mind, it sounds gross but they look younger they are (hence making him look like Dorian's older brother)and are all hot. His father also got into her mind and had her dream of being on their exotic beach.
Don't worry Dorian makes him leave. She meets Dorian's brother and he is awesome!
Gab and Dorian's relationship is very up and down, mostly down. At one time I was actually sad. It effected my personal feelings.

That gives the book an automatic A+. By the end, I was spent. All I can say is I can't wait till Summer 2013, when the third book comes out. I will go mad!

This book is a 4.9! I think this book may be the best(just slightly) of the two.

Must Read To Only Adults!
Check it out at:

Darra

Saturday, March 16, 2013

The Authors Soundtracks

Many Authors put together songs they think would best fit the story. I am going to give you a few books soundtracks. There are a few songs that are on our playlist. Check us out tomorrow and i will have that list you. Much Love to my Music Lovers Darra :-)

lost my mind!

I cannot express how i feel right now. Finished Dark Prince today. Sunny and I will blog tomorrow full break down. I love Doriam fan club here! Darra

Friday, March 15, 2013

Shattered Promised by Jessica Sorensen


Ok...so I have was really excited when I heard about this book. If you follow this blog or keep up with what we read you know the I have read Jessica Sorensen's books Callie and Kayden and Ella and Micha. I love them and so when I heard that she was going to rewrite her Fallen Star series as an adult book rather than young adult. So exciting. I have debated on reading the Fallen Star series just so I know what is going to happen (we all know I don't do patience well). I have not read it and I don't plan on it...not b/c I didn't like the book (I do) I just want to see where this is all going. 

I feel like this is a hard book to give a synopsis for. I don't want to give away too much but I do want you to read enough to be interested...there is a girl, Gemma, who is raised by her grandparents and really has no emotions. Once she is in college she all of a sudden starts having feelings and then starts dreaming about a couple of guys that she knows in her dreams but not in real life. In the dreams, the guys keep telling her that they will take care of her and she will be safe but then they always die. One day on campus Gemma meets Alex--the main guy in her dreams! They have an instant electrical attraction but of course Alex is a jerk.  They are thrown together in a class and things start to happen to make Gemma think she is going crazy. As the story goes on Gemma and Alex continue to try to fight their attraction but it isn't working. Gemma also figures out that she is not crazy and the Death Walkers in her dreams are actually a reality that she has to deal with. 

I like this book b/c I like Gemma and I like the story line. It is a little bit different and there is enough action to keep you interested. I did feel like at times there was too much going on. I was ok with it but at the same time I was kinda like OK...what else could really happen...

I am looking forward to the next book b/c Jessica Sorensen does a great job with cliff hangers. I hate cliff hangers but I love them too...I would give this book 4 stars out of 5 so go get it and read it :)

Sunny

Thursday, March 14, 2013

Dark Light by S. L. Jennings




Hello All. This is the book I wrote that inappropiate blog yesterday about. Absolutely loved the book! Now it starts as always of a girl, Gabriella that is trying to figure out what to do with her life. She has a great group of friends she would do anything for and her adoptive parents that are great. Than she is given this book on her 20th birthday.

She knows nothing about her real mother. And this book was written by her. This is when she finds out she has special powers that will be revealled when she turns 21. Her mother explains that her father had a relationship that was forbidden to happen, which caused them to be murdered.

Her parents are what is considered the dark and light. Her mother, Natalia, is the light, while her father was on the dark side. No light and dark have ever had a child. Until Gabriella. She is destined for the greatest power of all.

She meets this mysterious, gorgeous man at a bar that she is immediately drawn to him. Dorian. They end up meeting by chance later in the week and they have lunch. Then continue to have dates each day. Gabriella can't help herself. She wants to throw herself at him because there is something magical between them. Lets just say that they get together very quickly and have amazing sex. Over and over and over.

Dorian will make you go mad! He is absolutely perfect. Black hair, blue eyes, Greek with a perfect body. Sigh...She has to try to have a life outside of Dorian. But he is all she thinks about. Dorian has to go out of town for two weeks. Despair is all she feels however she can't do anything about it. And this means that she gets to spend more time with her best friend, Morgan. And also the man she has been in love with(before Dorian) and her closest friend, Jared.

I am skimming over alot since I would write a book about the book. The relationship with Jared is strained now that he has confessed that now he feels the same. She is stuck. What do you do when you finally let go of your feelings for your best friend and now he finally feels the same.

But she can't stay away from Dorian. There is a get together to celebrate graduating college. Despite her strained relationship with Jared, she go's. However earlier in the book, she meets Aurora and she is now dating Jared. She does not like her because she had past relations with Dorian. So now she has to deal with Jared and Aurora public display of affection during the whole getaway. Luckily Dorian shows up at the end and makes her anger melt away.

All this time she has seen and felt weird things lately. Dorian and Aurora start speaking a foreign language. One that has been dead for century's. And she can understand a bit of it. All she hears is her(Gabriella) dead. She does not know what to do. But she knows that Dorian is something and he knows about her too. But she would rather act ignorant to it rather than confront him and end their relationship.

Many things happen after this that is now open in the air. Gabriella finds a picture. And the people in the picture rocks her world. It opens a question she must get the answer from Dorian despite what her parents are afraid of.

She goes to confront him and so many things unfold.

That is it, no more information. SORRY! All I can say is the ending makes you want to scream!
Luckily the 2nd book (The Dark Prince) is out and I am reading it now.

This book is AMAZING! I will give it a 4.7. Which is monumental.
READ THIS NOW!
DARRA

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/dark-light-sl-jennings/1114258987

Wednesday, March 13, 2013

Holy Crap!



I know this is a hell of a way to start this blog but really. So I am reading Dark Light. Pardon my religious language, no offense. Holy sheep shit there is ALOT of sex. I plan to write the blog later this week, detail by detail. It is like every other page. I mean I am not complaining, but this will be a highlight of all the blogs I have written lately. You will enjoy this. ;-)

Darra

Tuesday, March 12, 2013

Sunny Needs Help...

First off, I forgot to put this link on the post yesterday. Molly McAdams put this song on Twitter as a perfect song from Chase to Harper. She is correct...it really is a great song. I am sure that as soon as I can find it I will add it to the playlist on here.


Now my issue that I need help with....I talked about it yesterday...I really need to get off Chase. I am to the point of almost following him on Twitter. This is not normal. I don't know what I need to go to move on. I guess maybe I will reread the Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning. Jericho Barrons usually works but I am not sure on this one. Anyways, hope you enjoy the video. I really like the song.  I need to review Shattered Promises by Jessica Sorensen. I read it this weekend. Hopefully I can get that done tomorrow morning. 

Sunny



Monday, March 11, 2013

Jamie is OBSESSED!

So a girl I know finally decided to get on board WAY late and read 50 Shades of Grey last week. She was at work this weekend and was all about the book and totally obsessing over EVERYTHING. It was to the point of her sitting there doing something and then just stopping and telling everyone that she was so depressed she was done and then how much she missed Christian...and of course the inevitable...feeling like she was going through a bad breakup!  (NO JUDGING PPL--YOU ALL DID THE SAME WHEN YOU READ IT!)  Now I am thinking back to when I read the books (and convinced the whole office and restaurant I worked at to read them) and how obsessed we all were...I have said this from day 1--you need to read these books with a buddy!

So in reliving these feelings I realized that as much I have been so over 50 Shades and annoyed that I was like that it is kinda awesome...I mean there are people that I never would have talked to before but we read the books together and now I can pretty much talk to them about anything.  I mean I was not very close to the girl that told me to read it. I had never heard of it and she had not either but started reading it. She worked with me and knew that I read a lot so she told me that she needed to talk about it with someone. Our whole office (Darra included) pretty much cast the whole movie...we had 50 Shades time each morning to discuss the book and where everyone was in it...we went online and found the apartment building he lived in and looked at the floor plans...I mean we did all the crazy and had a blast doing it.  Personally, I have tried to go back and reread the books to see if I really liked them or if it was just a craze and I cannot get back into it...and I have heard other people say the same...

So Jamie--there is light at the end of the tunnel  and you will eventually get over the break up ;-)

Jamie's Grey


Now I can't judge anybody on their obsessions b/c I am in the middle of one that apparently isn't going away anytime soon.  If you follow my posts you know that a couple of weeks ago I read Taking Chances by Molly McAdams. I am STILL all about CHASE!!!! I mean I never really got on board with Brandon and I understand why she picked him in the beginning but SERIOUSLY!!!!!!!!  You may also know that Molly is writing Chase's POV and it comes out in June (there is some definite squealing going on in my head right now).  I can only imagine how much worse I am going to be after reading that book. I mean OMG I am already 120% on TEAM CHASE how am I going to survive his book!!!!!!!!! (and yes I have no self control and have looked at ALL 4 teasers--I really am ashamed of myself)  I also stalk Twitter and Pinterest for anything on this book....

SOOOOOOOOOOO...you tell me....what book/guy has had you all worked up and OBSESSED to the point of distraction?  I mean I have read several books since Taking Chances and I am still having issues...and the annoying thing is Molly McAdams wrote the 100% PERFECT guy for me in From Ashes....I mean GAGE IS FREAKING PERFECT (except he should have been blond hair blue eyes but hey no complaints). I mean cowboy, drives a truck, lived in Austin, owns a ranch, isn't afraid to work, loves being outside...I could go on forever...so WHY am I so into CHASE????? I don't know...I am rereading Captive in the Dark to try to offset it...I told Jamie to read it too...we are going to see if she does and if Caleb can get her off (heehee that's what she said) of Christian :)

*****sigh****

Sunny

Sunday, March 10, 2013

When we Collide by A.L. Jackson


I am going to explain this book in one word. Intense. Each emotion is described in detail. It begins with a man named William and his extravagent but lack luster life. He hates his wife and his job. How did he end up here? And why can't he stop thinking about the one love he lost?

Just as he questions himself, he gets a call from his brother that their Aunt is dying and he needs to come home to say his goodbyes. It has been six years since he has been home. Because of her. However he goes to see his Aunt before her passing.

Maggie has been in the same vile relationship with Troy for many years. She goes from having a terrible, abusive home life to another one that she is physically abused each week. The one thing that keeps her going is her one reason for living, her son. Maggie also cannot forget the only person that holds her heart, William. Despite being afraid of going to William's mother house, she ends up going to give her condolenses anyways. But her son, Jonathan runs into William. William is lost, the child looks just like him. He has been dreaming of him for years. He goes downstairs to see Maggie running out with her son. He catches up to ask her why. Why did she not tell him? She tells him a lie and says Jonathan is not his son. The less he knows, the better.

William made the decision to stay. He can't leave here again. Because of his his family, the nothingness of his life back in L.A. and he can't lose her again. He decides he is not leaving like he had before. Nothing is going keep her from him. The details of what happened with her life after he left are unbelievable. He must get her away from Troy.

The book goes into details of how they got together. How their relationship was kept secret and how it ended. And what needs to be done to get her out of that relationship and try to get to know his son.

I would hate to tell you more because it would give it all away. But there is a love, sadness, anger, deception, but what is most important, happiness.

I enjoyed the book. Well writen. Check it out:

http://www.amazon.com/A.-L.-Jackson/e/B007RK7ZOU

Darra

Friday, March 8, 2013

Taking Chances #2 Review

So Sunny already did her review for this book. I finally gave in and read it. I have never been so pissed that she had me read this book! It is not that the book was bad, it was the person who dies in the book. WTF! And sadly I cried. Yes, tears rolling down my face. That took a shot at my ego. I usually leave the crying to Sunny, but this time she got me!!!!

You have read her, you know the story line. If you haven't figured it out, the picture above is what tattoo's they got. It was a long book. I don't know why. Crazy things happen, love story, blah, blah, blah. But I think they were too lovey dovey too long in the book.

Everyone loves the guy that has a sweet streak but is an asshole too. It is what it is. I don't think that there was enough balance for me personally.

However many women will like this book. The guys were hot which is always a plus.


Darra

Neverfall by Brodi Ashton




As you have seen, I have read Everneath and Everbound. I was suppose to read Everbound after this book. Oops! Neverfall is Cole's point of view and the relationship he has with Nikki. He is the guy that takes her down to Hades for a century and feeds off of her. Sounds worse saying like that.

Anyways, it is like her other books. It goes back and forth, one chapter of current time. The other chapter is from the past. This includes when he first meets Nikki. He was trying to figure out how she stayed young and the same when they went back up. He went to England to meet with the Delphinians. This is a group of people that were outcasted by the queen because she feared they would have too much power. They are all mutilated when the Queen burned their faces.

This is a whole lot of jacked up. Cole ends up getting put in prison where there were rats coming in the middle of the night to chew on him. DISTURBING!!!

He gets out obviously. I can't say anymore. Despite that he took her down and fed off of her and then tricked her in Everbound, I still have love for him. He loved Nikki and it was so sad that she did not return the feelings.
I heart Cole!

Read it if you read the other books. It is worthy.

Darra                                      

Thursday, March 7, 2013

Where I am

Hola!

So I have been reading Taking Chances. Sunny already read it, but I am just getting to it. I had to read Neverfall, which is Cole's POV book. I love him despite I should not! I think that I need to review that one. Than I read Wait For You by Jennifer Armentrout.

Anyways, back to me. ;-) Reading Taking Chances which feels like I have been reading it forever! Like a whole 4 days! I have 30 pages left. I will write a short review on this since Sunny has already briefed you.

Tomorrow or later tonight I will be reading When We Collide. So expect that review this weekend. It looks like it will be different than most of the stories I read. Excited.

Peace Peeps!
Darra

Wednesday, March 6, 2013

Rereads This Week

Sooooooo.....I have several books that I am waiting to read and have them on "Jericho" (my Nook) but apparently I am in the mood to reread...

So far this week I have read Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Of course, Daemon sucked me in again. Totally obsessing about him....he really is awesome in a very jerkish way (and yes I realize I make up my own words sometimes).  Now I want to finish this series and I am all upset that the next book doesn't come out until JULY!!!!  So to try to pace myself I started Wait For You last night (again by Jennifer L. Armentrout).  I know...I just read it this weekend but I have not stopped thinking about it since I finished it. Every once in a while I will read a book that makes me want to restart it as soon as I finish...and this book is one of them.

Darra is reading Taking Chances by Molly McAdams. I read it a couple of weeks ago so last night I received a hateful text from her. She got to "THAT" part!!!  UGH!!!!!!! So this morning we rehashed it and now I kinda want to read that one again but I don't know if I should put myself back in that emotional turmoil...although I CAN'T wait for Stealing Harper to come out in JUNE!!!! It is Chase's POV and I can only imagine my reaction to that...I really can't wait but I am so nervous. I think I will have to have lots of kleenex, chocolate and CareBear movies for afterwards...

I think after Wait For You I may go back to On Dublin Street. I don't feel like I gave Braden enough thought.

Do you have a book that you want to reread as soon as you are finished? Or do you have a book that you read every couple of months or at least once a year?  I reread the Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning several times a year. I can't get enough...I also read Pride and Prejudice about once a year. Every couple of years I read The Iliad--love Greek mythology.

Sunny

Tuesday, March 5, 2013

Fighting for Flight by J B Salsbury


This book is a little bit different. Raven is the daughter of Las Vegas' most notorious pimp Dominick Morretti and his best prostitute. She did not have much to do with her father growing up and does not really acknowledge the relationship. Her mother basically ignored her for the majority of her life. As soon as she could she moved out of her mother's house and found work as a mechanic. The shop she works for is run by Guy who is the closest to a parent figure she has ever had. Jonah is a UFL fighter (UFC basically) that is preparing for his heavy weight championship fight.  His whole career is hanging on this fight and he has never been defeated. Jonah is a also not looking for any type of relationship. No girl has ever been anything to him other than a quick release of built up stress. 

Jonah comes to find a mechanic to rebuild one of his cars. When he meets Raven he is surprisingly interested in her.  They begin working together and he realizes that she is fun, smart and everything he didn't know he is looking for. Raven turns 21 the night after his big fight. So about a week before Dominick calls her to a meeting stating that upon her 21st birthday she is to join "the business" by replacing her mother. She is revolted and tells him no. Of course he threatens all of the people she loves from her best friend, Guy and Jonah.  When Jonah finds out what Dominick has planned for her he goes to Dominick to try to buy her freedom.  Dominick tells him to throw his championship fight he will let Raven go. So now Jonah has to decide if he should throw away everything he has worked for...

This is an awesome book. You have to love Raven and Jonah. First off-who doesn't love fighters?  I mean YUMMY!!!!  Raven has taken care of herself her whole life and obviously has a big heart. It makes you wonder how she ended up a good person with so much stacked against her. Jonah starts out kinda like a jerk but at the same time he is there for his friends and just totally focused on what he wants. 

I would give this book a 4.2 out of 5.  This is a series in that the next book will be focusing on Jonah's best friend, Blake. I usually don't like when authors do this but I am willing to give it a try b/c Blake was pretty funny and you have to really like him.  So I will let you know if it worth the read once it comes out.

Happy Tuesday!!
Sunny

Purchase book at:

Jessica Guest Reveiwer!!! Defending Jacob by William Landay


“Defending Jacob” by William Landay



Released January 2012
Book Review by Jessica McClenny Waites

The law, the Justice system, the twists and turns of a murder trial is intriguing on its own.  “Defending Jacob” by William Landay presents to us a case of a child accused of murder, while at the same time, making us an eye witness to the heartbreaking situation of a family being ripped apart.
Assistant DA, Andy Barber, lives in a pristine suburban community in Massachusetts with his loving wife and 14 year old son Jacob.  Yes, the same Jacob of whom the title of the book refers.  When a nasty murder of a 14 year old classmate of Jacob’s takes place, the town panics, as any close-knit, suburban community would.  The parents of the murdered boy are devastated and the townspeople are determined to protect their children from a murderer.  I can give you two questions that generally sum up the beginning of this novel.  “Why did this happen to us?” and “How can anyone murder a child?”  It’s time for answers.
As assistant DA, Andy Barber, volunteers to take the case.  There are no suspects right away and the classmates of the victim are not talking.  We are led to the somewhat obvious conclusion that the murdered boy was not a saint.  We also find out about a disturbing local man who was nearby at the time of the crime.  But, it is not that long before the pretty little world of Andy Barber’s turns ugly when his son’s bloody fingerprint is found on the victim’s shirt.  Andy vows to see this through to the end and prove that his son is not guilty. 

This is a fantastic premise that seems unbelievable at first.  What are the odds that an Assistant DA’s son will be charged with murder?  Since we are seeing this through Andy’s eyes, it sounds like an easy ploy to have the main character provide us with all the technical knowledge of the law, while describing to us firsthand the feelings a parent would have in this situation.  The author covers his bases and once the accusation of murder is made, it is hard to not want to see this through to the end.  Speaking of the end, I will not say what it is, but if you’re a fan of the big twist, you won’t be disappointed.    
When you read “Defending Jacob” you will be right there with the Barbers during their nightmare.  A couple of shady characters and a big family secret will only throw a few more wrenches into this already bad situation.  This is a fast-paced court room drama seen through the eyes of man in the most desperate situation…to save his child.   I highly recommend!

Thanks!!! Jessica ;)

Nicole Reed Does It Again!!

So I am a little behind on my blog stalking...work is killing me. Just so you have an idea of how our last week was...I am pretty sure my boss had to yell "Girl Fight" at least twice on Friday...there were some definite raised voices and a think even a few frustrated tears...but hey we all survived!! So that is why I am just now reading Rhye's POV!!!!!!!!!!!!  Seriously you HAVE to read it!!!!!  I was never a big Rhye fan but OMG! The link is below to Nicole's blog--go check it out IMMEDIATELY!!!!!!! (Don't worry I'll wait)

DO NOT READ IF YOU HAVE NOT READ RUINING ME AND RUINING YOU!!!!

Nicole Reed's Blog--Rhye's POV

Are you totally floored now???? I am too...I had to send an email to Darra since she is living the leisurely life today (or maybe she is home sick--whatever).  I really never thought it would be him!!

The title of this post is Nicole Reed Does It Again--what she did--she totally rocked my emotional equilibrium.  I mean I can't decide if I totally love it or hate it...I am sitting at my desk with my mouth hanging open and eyes tearing up...I mean I am so not an emotional person but she knows how to get me...does anyone else have an author that does this to them? Someone that just rocks your world whether they make you so angry you want to throw your book across the room (Molly McAdams, Taking Chances), cry like a baby (Nicole Reed, Ruining Me) or go curl up with the love of your life b/c your newest book boyfriend is sooooooo freaking sigh worthy (Jennifer L. Armentrought, Wait For You, Lux, Covenant-she writes the best book boyfriends)...

Sunny


Monday, March 4, 2013

A Lot Going On In The Book World!

Wait For You by J. Lynn (Jennifer L. Armentrout)

Ok...so Wait For You is doing really well and Jennifer is being super awesome and dropped the price on Barnes and Noble and Amazon to $0.99 until Tuesday!!! I HIGHLY recommend you go buy it NOW!!!  This book was so good...I finished it in less than a day and had to stop myself from just going back to page 1 and rereading it. It has been a long time since I have wanted to do that. Check out Darra's review or our cover reveal post to get more info on the book.  Again--GO BUY IT NOW!!!!



J.D. Nixon on Smashwords


I feel like Darra and I have not given J.D. Nixon enough praise on this blog. She is freaking awesome. She has 2 series out and we have read all the books for both and are anxiously awaiting the next installment.  I am bringing this up b/c this week is E-Reader week and Smashwords is having a big sale. All of J.D.Nixon's books are half price!!!

Heller by J.D. Nixon

This book is about Tilly and Heller. Tilly is a 20 something girl that has no real goals/motivation in life other than not having to move back in with her parents. She is an "actress" and she is basically living in the slums and still barely making rent. She sees an ad for a security and survellience company and applies for the job. She is not qualified in any way for this but still gets hired. Heller is the owner of the company and let me tell you...he has held the #1 spot for human book boyfriend since the moment I read the first book. He is freaking HOT and BLOND and BLUE EYED and YUMMY!!!!!  Anyways, Heller hires Tilly and the book is freaking hilarious. It is all about her escapades as security guard. I can not say it enough...go to smashwords and buy all of these books. Barnes and Noble has the first book free!!!

Little Town Series by J.D. Nixon

This book is about Tessie. She is a cop in a small town that she and her family has lived in since the town was settled. Basically from the beginning of time the Bycraft men have been obsessed with the Fuller women.  By obsessed I mean they want them so badly that they use them and then murder them. Tessie has to try to keep the Bycrafts under control in her little town. Just picture the most white trash, hill-billy heathens and you will get a small idea of the Bycrafts. They are horrible!!! This book takes the Hatfields and McCoys to a whole new level. You should really read this series. The first book Blood Ties is free (I think on Barnes and Noble).

I think that is all for now. I do need to review a couple of more books but I have to work now :(

Sunny